Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Delaney & Bonnie: Home (remaster)

The 1969 Stax Records debut of Delaney & Bonnie, Home, gorgeously reissued here by the Concord Music Group, saw the husband & wife singer/songwriter duo of Delaney and Bonnie Bramlett head to Memphis to record this warm collection of roots rock that contained strong elements of blues, soul, gospel, country, and R&B. In some ways, the flavor of Home pre-dated the Southern Rock movement, as you can hear how bands like The Marshall Tucker Band and even Lynyrd Skynyrd & the Rossington Collins Band might have gotten some inspiration from this album. Supported on the album by an all-star line-up that included Booker T. & the MG's, the Memphis Horns, vocalist William Bell, Isaac Hayes, and Leon Russell, the duo added their melodic and catchy lead and harmony vocals to the albums original ten tracks, and this reissue throws in five more gems as well.

As good as the vocal melodies are here, it's the horns that really make this album. Combined with some gritty guitar riffs and lead slide, the horn section turns "A Long Road Ahead" into a funky, soul-inflected rocker, while the organ driven "All We Really Want to Do" sees Bonnie turn in a great lead vocal performance. Her take on the Janis Joplin classic "Piece of My Heart" is very emotional, and a great homage to the late singer. Elsewhere, there's a boatload of catchy hooks, soaring horn arrangements, tasty guitar licks from Steve Cropper, and funky keyboard vamps from Booker T and Isaac Hayes, but the focus is always on the stunning soul flavored vocals of Delaney & Bonnie. Fans who adore the great horn bands of the 60's and 70's like Chicago and Blood Sweat & Tears, both who combined soaring vocal harmonies with upfront horn arrangements, will love this album.

The two would later go on to work with Eric Clapton to great acclaim, but it's these early recordings that show the heart and soul of the duo. Deep southern fried soul at its best!

Track Listing
1. A Long Road Ahead
2. My Baby Specializes
3. Things Get Better
4. We Can Love
5. All We Really Want To Do
6. It's Been A Long Time Coming
7. Just Plain Beautiful
8. Everybody Loves A Winner
9. Look What We Have Found
10. Piece Of My Heart
11. A Right Now Love
12. I've Just Been Feeling Bad
13. Dirty Old Man
14. Get Ourselves Together
15. Pour Your Love On Me
16. Hard To Say Goodbye

Added: July 6th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Concord Music Group
Hits: 2532
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by