Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Analog Pussy: Trance 'n' Roll

Trance 'n' Roll huh? Well, the title of the latest from Analog Pussy is pretty much right on the money, as the dynamic duo of Jinno and Jiga have come up with ten songs bursting with exuberant techno, trance, rock, and psychedelic sounds. If you've never heard this band before, let me just say that it is an interesting listening experience. Imagine you are at a dance club or rave, with hundreds of people bouncing, dancing, and undulating, and on stage is a sexy looking woman (Jiga) with a mean looking, futuristic bass guitar, bouncing up and down, while her partner in crime, a mysterious looking fellow (Jinno), stands behind a huge bank of synthesizers that is producing all sorts of wild noises. Add in some extra musicians on guitars, drums, cello, and sitar, and you basically have Analog Pussy. Vocals are scattered around the songs, and sung in English, Spanish, and German, but the focus here is on the beats and intoxicating blend of upbeat sounds. Their take on Deep Purple's "Smoke on the Water" riff on the title track is pretty humorous, but in some strange way it works and I can just picture this song taking off in dance and techno clubs. "Psycho Punko" is a wild punk rock-meets-techno hybrid, with Jiga's bad-girl vocals leading the charge over the new wavey synth melodies from Jinno. In fact, if you like big, fat synth sounds and equally "phat" bass grooves, check out "Angels", a fast moving mix of Tangerine Dream and house music that will really get your body moving.

For your next party, pop Trance 'n' Roll in your CD player and watch the crowd start to move and shake. It's a fun release, one that probably won't appeal much to the metal or prog crowd, but if you enjoy techno and trance with a little psychedelia and rock thrown in, this might be for you. Synth lovers should also get a kick out of it as well!

Note-our promo copy came with a bonus DVD of video and live cuts, which were pretty neat. Live these guys must be a fun experience indeed.

Track Listing
1. Trance N Roll
2. Future
3. Molecular
4. Psycho Punko
5. Angels
6. 2B
7. Osterstrasse 3
8. Sound Of Soul
9. Amrisha
10. Snail Song

Added: June 21st 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4153
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by