Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Laferrière, Yves: Laferrière, Yves

Québec bassist and composer Yves Laferrière is best known for his work with the local progressive group Contraction as well the Ville Emard Blues Band (VEEB) throughout the 70's. His debut self titled solo album which was recorded in 1978 and now recently issued on CD via the folks at ProgQuébec, is a relaxed and laid back jazzy set of music featuring many of the top musicians of the time from the burgeoning Québec music scene.

The music on this disc was in Laferrière's words "recorded as a stepping stone towards film scoring" and many of the tracks here have their own unique, distinctive feel and vibe lending credibility to his statement. Laferrière employs a lot of very unique musicians from various different backgrounds to get his vision across. He takes avant-garde players such as René Lussier (guitar) and Bernard Cormier (violin) from Conventum and blends their styles with the more progressive sounds of members of Beau Dommage and Harmonium to create his own unique blend of original material. While the disc is primarily instrumental in nature, there are a few songs which feature vocals, "La cuisine rouge" being a particular high point and a track which features a guest vocal spot from Laferrière's future wife Paule Baillargeon. There are so many great moments on this CD that it's hard to pick one particular favorite; all tracks flow together with such a natural ease that they all end up being highlights. The use of electric piano and Fender Rhoades along with flute, layered over top of a funky drum and percussive backbeat truly make a song such as "La samba du-Bas-du-Fleuve" an absolute joy to listen to. Fans who appreciate songs with progressive stylings will undoubtedly latch on to one of the later numbers called "Mouvements". Clocking in at almost 8 minutes, this track features a funky bass intro by Laferrière and some great punchy, jagged guitar chords from Lussier along with various tempo changes and mood shifts. In closing this disc is one of those long lost gems from the Québec music scene and whether you're revisiting Laferrière's music once again or just discovering it for the first time it doesn't matter, you'll enjoy this one greatly either way.

Track Listing
1) Ouverture: Le son qui nous unit
2) Des instruments charges à blanc
3) La douce odeur de l'encens
4) Anastasie Oh! ma chérie (theme du film)
5) Merida! Merida!
6) La cuisine rouge
7) La samba du Bas-du-Fleuve
8) Mouvements
9-12) Pièces inédites: Musiques extraites du film "La cuisine rouge"

Added: June 19th 2006
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Prog Quebec
Hits: 3378
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by