Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fish: Return to Childhood-20th Anniversary Tour of Misplaced Childhood

It took the man known as Fish 16 years to work up the gumption to perform his former band's enduring masterpiece, Misplaced Childhood, in its entirety. But that well-received 2002 gig at a fan club convention in Holland sparked a yearning in Fish's soul to tour the album, something not done since Marillion did it in 1986. So in November 2005, at Holland's famed Tilburg 013 venue, he took to the stage with his current six-piece band (an outfit every bit as polished as his old band) and performed not only the 1985 epic, but also some of the hardest-rocking gems from his solo career and even a few Marillion favorites that contrasted well with Misplaced Childhood. And he captured it all for Return to Childhood-20th Anniversary Tour of Misplaced Childhood.

Fish whose career has seen a resurgence lately with the critically acclaimed compilation Bouillabaisse and now this (which features provocative new artwork by Misplaced Childhood artist Mark Wilkinson) sounds more animated onstage than he often does on studio records, with heavier guitars and effective female backing vocals that enliven songs like "Wake Up Call (Make It Happen)" and "Innocent Party." "Credo," the first set's closer, reaches Peter Gabriel-finale proportions and sets the stage for a beginning-to-end run-through of Misplaced Childhood, which enters Floydian dimensions during the epic "Blind Curve." The crowd's enthusiasm reaches intoxicating levels during some songs, a fact not lost on Fish, whose overzelous liner notes dominate a 12-page booklet slipped inside this handsome double digipak.

Nothing will ever top the original, simply because it's the original. But given the date and all the baggage Fish has carried over the years, Misplaced Childhood - as well as all of the Fish material aired here - holds up remarkably well. Can't wait to see what should be a magnificent DVD

Track Listing
Disc One:
1) Big Wedge
2) Moving Targets
3) Brother 52
4) Goldfish and Clowns
5) Raingods Dancing
6) Wake Up Call (Make It Happen)
7) Innocent Party
8) Long Cold Day
9) Credo

Disc Two:
1) Pseudo Silk Kimono
2) Kayleigh
3) Lavender
4) Bitter Suite
5) Heart of Lothian
6) Waterhole (Expresso Bongo)
7) Lords of the Backstage
8) Blind Curve
9) Childhood's End?
10) White Feather
11) Incommunicado
12) Market Square Heroes
13) Fugazi

Added: June 19th 2006
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Fish Web Site
Hits: 6106
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Fish: Return to Childhood-20th Anniversary Tour of Misplaced Childhood
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2006-06-19 18:15:57
My Score:

Once you gaze upon the stellar Mark Wilkinson artwork that adorns this lavish 2CD digipack, it becomes quickly apparent that Return to Childhood is going to be a special listening experience. After the last notes of the Marillion classic "Fugazi", it certainly lived up to all expectations. Celebrating the 20th anniversary of the release of the Misplaced Childhood, Fish took his band out on the road for a few weeks hitting many major spots in Europe and South America (notes of the tour are given in the booklet by Fish himself), where they played a selection of solo material, the entire Misplaced Childhood album, and a few other Marillion classics. It's an energetic and successful set, with Fish solo gems like "Credo", "Brother 52", "Big Wedge", and "Goldfish and Clowns" given rocking and royal treatment, the Misplaced Childhood portion is like a an old friend coming over for dinner and providing plenty of old tales, and favorites like "Incommunicado", "Market Square Heroes". and "Fugazi" simply stunning. You can hear the audience roaring to every song and singing along, obviouly having a blast, and the band performs each song with a tightness and exuberance that I don't think has been heard from a Fish band for quite some time. The singer himself is in fine form-even though he can't hit some of those high notes that are needed for many of the older songs, backup singer Deborah Ffrench helps out greatly in that aspect.

If you are a fan of Fish and his days in Marillion, this will be a no brainer purchase, but in addition it's just an overall great live album from one of prog rocks great performers.

Fish: Return to Childhood-20th Anniversary Tour of Misplaced Childhood
Posted by Ken Pierce, SoT Staff Writer on 2006-06-17 07:13:25
My Score:

Marillion's Misplaced Childhood is one of the most important albums ever to hit Progressive Rock as far as being commercially appealing. The lyrical poetry of singer Fish (Derek Dick) brought the music to life with its vivid and detailed storytelling. When Fish left the band Marillion became an entirely different entity while Fish continued to perform under his original and established model. His releases Vigil In A Wilderness Of Mirrors and Internal Exile showed that he would not lose his touch or style. Since his departure Fish has released eight albums while Marillion has done about the same yet despite their individuality it always boiled down to Misplaced Childhood as being one of the lynchpins in their mutual successes. Marillion today hardly leans of any "Fish-era" tunes while Fish himself always makes a good number of them part of his performance. As the principle writer of the material he has every right to this and should not be lambasted as "living off" his Marillion years. One could hardly accuse Roger Waters of Pink Floyd of this, so Fish deserves the same respects. Because of his touring and his frequent requests to do something to celebrate these years Fish gives us this live recording which is a double CD of musical treasures. Not only do we find Fish classics but we also have Marillion staples; the biggest part of the package is the full performance of Misplaced Childhood. Recorded in 2005 we find a more mature Fish holding court with his six-piece band and delivering the music with a newfound zeal and appreciation. Many feel that Clutching At Straws was the bands signature Fish epic, but I am among many who feel the glory rests in "Misplaced" being that particular release.

The packaging of the album is also top-notch and covered with the artwork of Mark Wilkinson (who did the original Misplaced Childhood album). The cover finds a heavy in thought Fish surrounded by images of his past and it gives you a solid sense of the mood he is going to perform on the recording. For many years the album has been my very favorite Marillion recording and getting to hear it performed completely by Fish and his band was exciting when it came down to it. Fish as a performer deserves a great amount of respect for his delivery of well thought out lyrical epics put to music. This is a must have for the fans of older Marillion music and especially those who miss his presence in the band. Sadly, both sides of the group face a limited audience and are off the map in terms of well-deserved exposure. Return To Childhood is probably the closest many of us will come to being able to enjoy Fish in concert so I suggest you grab a copy of this while you can, you will not be disappointed.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by