Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cooper, Alice: Live at Montreux (DVD)

Continuing with their collection of excellent concert films from the Montreux Jazz Festival, Eagle Vision gives us a 2005 performance from the legendary Alice Cooper. For over thirty years Alice Cooper has held the title as the "Godfather of Shock Rock" with bands such as KISS and Motley Crue following in his influential footsteps. For this concert Alice would be performing in support of his to be released Dirty Diamonds CD (of which several tracks are presented for the viewer to enjoy). However, like many Artists who place too much focus on a new release Alice and Company make sure to provide an absolutely heavy amount of classics from his extensive back catalog. Most of his hits are now legendary parts of Hard Rock music culture and I think even the most distant of music fans knows that "School's Out" and "Billion Dollar Babies" are Cooper tracks. Fortunately these and many others are present but as you watch this concert there is a couple of things that stand out very quickly about the show. You'll find that there is not much of an emphasis of the showman from the Nightmarish carnival that he usually brings around with him. The stage itself is not garish in design and no one is really in any sort of costume change except Cooper who has several during the performance while using a number of small props. He has a female dancer who also goes through a number of costume/character changes during the show and she does really well. It was a great difference to the Cooper experience for while its common knowledge about his level of visual talent and capacity, this showed that while it's an important part of his show, it can be used minimally and still have a maximum impact on the audience. No matter what the reason for his changing the format from the way he used to you can count on Alice to lose his head for you as a viewer when it comes down to it. As an older fan of Cooper I lean to his classics, but was happy to see his newer material hold a heaviness that works very well.

Musically Alice knows how to build a band for his tours and as you watch this film you will see that he has not faltered yet. On guitar/vocals he has Damon Johnson of Brother Cane & Slave To The System (guitar), Ryan Roxie (guitar), Chuck Garric (bass) and the one and only Eric Singer (most recently seen in makeup performing with KISS as the "Catman"). Singer is always on point it seems and has proven himself to be one of the better drummers in Hard Rock music. He does a brief solo which is an added bonus. The dancer/actress performing around Alice through the whole show is in fact his Daughter Calico Cooper. It's amusing to see when at band introductions with her wearing next to nothing Alice announces "that's my little girl, now put some clothes on!" A companion CD is included with this DVD that features 19 of the songs from the film. It's a great way to load up your music player or take the show along with you in the car. I hope they do this with more of the releases since it's a nice enhancement to the product purchase.

Fans of Hard Rock music video and legendary performers cannot go wrong with this release. I enjoyed it very much and am happy to see Alice Cooper still showing the new kids how it is supposed to be done.

Track List

  1. Department Of Youth
  2. No More Mr. Nice Guy
  3. Dirty Diamonds
  4. Billion Dollar Babies
  5. Be My Lover
  6. Lost In America
  7. I Never Cry
  8. Woman Of Mass Distraction
  9. I'm Eighteen
  10. Between High School and Old School
  11. What Do You Want From Me
  12. Is It My Body
  13. Go To Hell
  14. The Black Widow
  15. Gimme
  16. Feed My Frankenstein
  17. Welcome To My Nightmare
  18. The Awakening
  19. Steven
  20. Only Women Bleed
  21. Ballad Of Dwight Fry
  22. Killer
  23. I Love The Dead
  24. School's Out
  25. Poison
  26. Wish I Were Born In Beverly Hills
  27. Under My Wheels

Added: June 7th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Alice Cooper Website
Hits: 2435
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by