Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hyades: Abuse Your Illusions

Italy's Hyades has been around for over a decade now. They've worked hard to get the attention of a decent record label that'd agree to release their music. With a bunch of demos and an EP titled No Bullshit...Just Metal, they've finally found their home at Mausoleum Records to release their first full-length album, Abuse Your Illusions.

The album is packed with quality oldschool thrash that ranges from Bay Area to the German scene, touching on others as well. This is pure thrash. No harmonizers, no studio effects, no keyboards, no happy Rhapsody-like moments... just pure thrash. Raging guitars recall every 80's thrash axeman from Dave Mustaine to Kirk Hammet to Kurt Vanderhoof. If you're a fan of bands like Exodus, Overkill, Death Angel, Anthrax, Kreator and Tankard, you'll rejoice when you give this disc a listen. The first song, "No Man's Land" was inspired by Danis Tanovic movie, with technical riffs and pummeling drumming; whilst "Smart Bombs, Dumb War", a song beginning with wailing sirens, sees the band going for a more melodic structure in the guitar department. The growling bass on "Hyades" and "September 11" (with a radio excerpt from an Italian radio which I assume is relaying the 9/11 tragedy) indicates both hate at its purest form while vocalist Marco Colombo conveys his messages in a screaming tone. Both songs are captured by melodic guitar interplay that is both technical and visceral. Actually the playing on "Liars" is akin to Artillery, in its melodic scope; whilst "Picture of a World" stands out for its Mezarkabul-like Middle Eastern motifs and punching rhythm guitars.

The band pictures in the booklet make it hard for me to believe this is a 2005 release. The members are all in jeans and sport shoes wearing Anthrax, Attacker and Exodus t-shirts, and posing like Tankard in the band photo. They've surely digested the 80's thrash movement quite a bit to produce an album of the same calibre. I read either on the band's or their company's website something like this: "Thrash now, work later." What can I say? I fully concur.

Track Listing

  1. No Man's Land
  2. Smart Bombs, Dumb War
  3. Hyades
  4. Liars
  5. Picture of a World
  6. Blameless in the Deathrow
  7. September 11
  8. Shut the Fuck Up
  9. Abuse Your Illusions
  10. Fight for Your Right

Added: May 21st 2006
Reviewer: Murat Batmaz
Related Link: Hyades website
Hits: 3737
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by