Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Oblivion: Remixed

This is a collection of demos from Jersey-based thrashers Oblivion from 1988 to 1990, and two tracks from a 1991 live show. The entire collection features more than a whiff of early Slayer and a dash of Anthrax and Metallica (respectively) against the 1989 and 1988 demos. Overall, Remixed features clean vocals on top of a bunch of mid-paced thrashers with occasional solos peppered throughout in tracks such as "Germ Warfare," "Necrocide" and "Coup d'Etat". "D.O.A." (Dead On Arrival) features a bellowing chorus that would have went well over at the many local shows whose flyers are featured in the color booklet that came with the CD. "Why Did Johnny Kill" was a chip off the Anthrax block, and "Carnage" is chock full of thrash guitar solos, a barrage of drums, and an extended "kill or die" scream. The six-minute track "Portrait of a Maggot" one of the highlights of this collection and if you love this era of music, will make you feel warm all over. I have a suspicion that the material was already a few years out of date when it was released at the time, which is a shame, because had these 1990 demos been released a few years earlier, they would have been indistinguishable from many of the middle-tier thrash bands from the era. Still, the collection dates well, and the short length and tempo shifts keep the material interesting. If you're looking for a retro-thrash fix, this release is definitely for you. If you could have freeze-dried and packaged that moment in time when Slayer and Anthrax ruled the roost (and before the dawn of black and death), this release will come as a welcome sound to your ears.

Track List
Contents Under Pressure (Jan 1990)
1. Scarred for Life
2. Blind Faith
3. Germ Warfare
4. D.O.A.
5. Involuntary Bio-conflagration.
6. Product of the Environment
Why Did Johnny Kill (May 1989)
7. Why Did Johnny Kill
8. RedJack
9. Carnage
10. Contents Under Pressure
11. Necrocide
12. Life After Death Row
War Gives Me Peace of Mind (Dec 1988)
13. Life After Death Row
14. Portrait of a Maggot
15. Scales of Injustice
16. Coup d'Etat

The release is valued at $7 and can be purchased by contacting guitarist David Pesette:
Oblivion (Guitarist)
5 First Ave
Port Monmouth, NJ 07758

Added: May 20th 2006
Reviewer: John Laroque
Related Link: Additional Info
Hits: 2587
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by