Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Speed/Kill/Hate: Acts Of Insanity

Clearly the music scene today is missing some good old-fashioned Thrash Metal. Thanks to the members of SpeedKillHate, fans of the genre that pretty much kicked off a wide variety of styles now have something with a classic sound and vibe to it. Fronted by lead singer Mario Frasca the band drives the point home from the very first track and across the whole record. If slam-dance moshing is up your alley there is definitely a lot of things you can pound your boots to on this one. The members who make up the albums core on the musician side certainly know something about giving the audience a good thrashing; you see they are also part of the band Overkill (a legend in the Metal world on their own). Dave Linsk, Derek Tailer and Tim Mallare handle the guitar, bass and drumming on the recording and their musicianship is pretty solid from top to bottom. Tailer does good on the bass, as in Overkill he is doing guitars to D.D.'s bassmanship. Mallare left Overkill last year while Linsk and Tailer are still recording and touring with the band. They maintain that Speed Kill Hate is not a project band at all yet very simply it is something else that they are involved in musically. At times I felt there was a little too much of the same vibe going on, but its been so long since a solid Thrash record has come along that I could be wrong. Fans who lean towards some aspects of later Pantera, Superjoint Ritual and perhaps Hatebreed will find some amount of pleasure within these tracks. Frasca has a lot of the Anselmo and Jasta qualities that make for a good Thrash lead man. During the listen I felt my head beginning to do the required banging that is sure to hit other listeners when they play this album.

While I always leaned more to the Power Metal or Progressive Side I enjoyed a bunch of the tracks on the album such as "Face The Pain" which was brutal and "Revelation At War" since I felt the riff used across it was interesting. So if you lean in the classic and brutal Thrash direction take a look and a listen to the guys in Speed Kill Hate for there is enough on here to inspire a halfway decent pit. They give you all the lyrics and a mess of photos to look at as well, which is never a bad thing for a new band to do. Given the albums speed levels, it comes up rather short in time length (36 minutes for the 9 tracks).

Note: Since this album was recorded Mallare has left the drumming chair and been replaced by Tony Ochoa (former of Sindrome).

Track Listing
1) Walls Of Hate
2)Setting Me Off
3)Violence Breeds
4)Slay The Enemy
5)Won't See Fear
6)Face The Pain
7)Revelation At War
8)Not For Me

Added: May 14th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2691
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by