Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Silencer: Death of Awe

Death of Awe is Silencer's first full-length release after two successful EP's, 2000's Kozmos and 2002's Structures. So good were the reviews for these EP's, the American band wasted no time to put together a solid release of eleven modern thrash tracks, packed with relentless aggression and uncompromising instrumental prowess.

I liken this disc to Darkane's modern, pristine records, full of thrash-inspired metallic riffage and aggressive vocal lines. Singer Chad Armstrong's vocals alternate between raspy death vocals and 80's style thrash screams, fitting the twin guitar harmonies of Dan Lynn and Keith Spargo, both of whom also lay down some nice backing vocals. The duo's playing has an ever-present melodic signature to it, bringing to mind the amazing Annihilator during the solos of pieces like "Earth Rule Murder", thickened with weird sound effects, deep bass grooves, and technical shred guitars; "Mnemodrone", their most modern sounding piece; or the headbang-inducing "Transport", with frequent tempo shifts and unusual chord progressions. The kick drums on this song are simply amazing and I really enjoy the ending of the track with a great calm section filled with ethereal synth work. "Signal to Noise" further expands on the band's progressive style, utilising a plethora of odd instrumentation, from great bass licks to melodic breakdowns; while the slightly electronic cuts, "Twilight" and "Antitwilight" (with distant female vocals on the former), are brief instrumentals that serve as a precursor to the explosive riffs heard on the following pieces, mainly the groovy "Fracture", marked by a bit more traditional metal-styled guitars and angry vocals; and the quite complex "The Harvest", a song that easily sets Silencer apart from countless metalcore bands out there.

Death of Awe is recommended to thrash metal fans who can handle modern production with songs highlighted by melodic threads and pummeling rhythms.

Track Listing

  1. Earth Rule Murder
  2. Mnemodrone
  3. Transport
  4. Signal to Noise
  5. Redshift
  6. Twilight
  7. Antitwilight
  8. Fracture
  9. The Death of Awe
  10. The Harvest
  11. Aeonic

Added: May 13th 2006
Reviewer: Murat Batmaz
Related Link: Silencer website
Hits: 3056
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by