Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Press: Press

These four guys three of whom have played together in various bands during the past 18 years, most notably the San Francisco Bay-area metal outfit D'Angelo make plodding doom-turned-AOR rock 'n' roll. Seriously.

On Press' self-titled CD, songs like "Nowhere to Run" and "Thirty Days" could move arenas, while "Blood Red Scream" and "Winds of War" are more aggressive alternative-metal tunes. Vocalist Rob Bonstin sounds shaky on a few tracks, and when the band decides to give its music some breathing room as on "Sunday," which also features some subtle keyboard work Press adds a new dimension to its sound that's worth exploring on the next record. Some of the lyrics, particularly on "Alone" and "The Lock" boast religious imagery, but its subtle and masked by a mix that sometimes make Bonstin's words inaudible.

This thing is available from the always-wonderful, get-lost-for-hours on-line store CD Baby, but if you bumped into it while scrolling for other discs, you might easily dismiss it because of the band's blah name and its ugly cover art. Neither do this band justice.

Track Listing:
1) Blood Red Scream
2) Alone
3) FTM
4) Three
5) Nowhere to Run
6) Sunday
7) The Lock
8) Thirty Days
9) XI
10) The Architect
11) Winds of War

Added: May 10th 2006
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Press Web Site
Hits: 2055
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by