Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rush: Gold (remaster)

Using their effective "Gold" formula Universal Music gives us Rush Gold, a double CD Anthology that takes a short cut on the recently established format. Instead of deciding what to include on this album the decision was made to re-issue the two individual "Retrospective" albums together under this new title. There is a song for song duplication with one minor exception of the track "Something For Nothing" being replaced by "Working Man". At the end of the day this is a better track for an Anthology piece and while this is not a CD for the Rush fanatic it is a great CD to give you a fair introduction to a wide amount of the bands hits if you never followed them. The album art for this two CD set was perhaps the only disappointing aspect of it as instead of decent liner notes and ample photos we simply get the album covers the same way they were represented on the original releases. Given the chance that new fans would lean to this CD, having a good background on Rush history would have been a smart way to go for the Gold release. The package contains songs from the first Rush album all the way to Hold Your Fire and given the fact that five more studio albums had come out since the time that this collection ends, perhaps a third CD should have been included to reflect the full catalog. Overall, I admit to liking this collection more than the original Chronicles or The Spirit Of Radio collections. Gold features every track on the latter listing for those that wanted some reference and you might be able to move both of these out of your collection in order to add this one in. Those that pursue a level of completeness on band releases might have a problem with that, but in my opinion an anthology that allows me to get rid of a couple of separate greatest packages is a winner in my book. The collected work here has also been through the remaster process giving you a more clean and powerful sound. There is a lot of great music on the two CD's and it's a great way to get some more folks into Rush, one of the earliest examples of Progressive Metal and legends in the Progressive Rock field for over 25 years.

Track Listing

  1. The Spirit Of Radio
  2. The Trees
  3. Freewill
  4. Xanadu
  5. Bastille Day
  6. By-Tor And The Snow Dog
  7. Anthem
  8. Closer To The Heart
  9. 2112 Overture
  10. The Temples Of Syrinx
  11. La Villa Strangiato
  12. Fly By Night
  13. Finding My Way
  14. Working Man
  15. The Big Money
  16. Red Barchetta
  17. Subdivisions
  18. Time Stand Still
  19. Mystic Rhythms
  20. The Analog Kid
  21. Distant Early Warning
  22. Marathon
  23. The Body Electric
  24. Mission
  25. Limelight
  26. Red Sector A
  27. New World Man
  28. Tom Sawyer
  29. Force Ten

Added: May 10th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Rush Website
Hits: 6228
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by