Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Machinemade God: The Infinity Complex

Ever get the feeling that upon hearing something that sounds pretty damn good on first listen suddenly starts to reveal itself to be all too familiar after repeated spins? Well, the debut album from Germany's Machinemade God, titled The Infinity Complex, did just that for me. With an effective mix of hardcore and Gothenburg styled melodic death metal (basically what is now referred to as metalcore) the lads in Machinemade God can certainly play with the best of them, as evident on the crunchy "Losses to Lessons", complete with plenty of massive riffs and wild pinch harmonics, and the catchy anthem "Downpour of Emptiness". The latter provides some intense rhythms, angry vocal shouts, and an assortment of intricate and melodic guitar riffs and breakdowns. As you make your way through the CD, it really is chock full of good songs that are at times brutally heavy yet melodic and memorable thanks to the addition of some fine hooks. They even throw in the interesting instrumental "Butterfly Coma", which is part guitar extravaganza for Holger Kiparski and Sky Hoff and part electronic noodling. Perhaps the heaviest and most compelling song on the CD is "Forever Gone", complete with an assortment of intricate and tasty guitar riffs and fills that takes it away from common metalcore. While all this probably sounds fine and dandy, and it is, there's nothing here that you haven't already heard from the likes of Killswitch Engage, Shadows Fall, God Forbid, and As I Lay Dying, which isn't really a bad thing. These days it's hard for new bands to come up with something truly unique and original. Machinemade God certainly don't attempt or realize that here on The Infinity Complex, but what they have created is certainly solid and worth a listen.

Track Listing
1) Teeth Vs. Curb
2) Losses To Lessons
3) Bleeding From Within
4) Downpour Of Emptiness
5) Friendster Is Sooo Two Months Ago
6) Kiss Me Now Kill Me Later
7) Butterfly Coma
8) Your Own Fault
9) Forever Gone
10) Injected Smiles
11) Angel Wings
12) Fuck Your Dead Heart
13) Snow White

Added: May 4th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2754
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by