Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Judas Priest: The Essential Judas Priest

Just what the world needed, another Judas Priest compilation. Seeing that the band reunited with Rob Halford not too long ago, this is not surprising, but with all the previous compilations and live albums, one would think that the last thing the fans needed was another best of collection. Here, The Essential Judas Priest, lets casual fans in on the bands classics plus tunes from their latest album Angels of Retribution. Most of the bands staples are here, glaring omissions being "Genocide" and "Grinder", but hey, you can't have everything. There's a nice essay by Geoff Barton in the booklet, and plenty of photographs of the band (not a mention of disgraced former drummer Dave Holland to be found anywhere!) which makes for an overall nice package.

If you are a casual Judas Priest fan this would be a nice purchase, but most of you probably already have what's included here many times over.

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Judas Rising
2. Breaking The Law
3. Hell Bent For Leather
4. Diamonds And Rust
5. Victim of Changes
6. Love Bites
7. Heading Out To The Highway
8. Ram It Down
9. Beyond The Realms Of Death
10. You've Got Another Thing Comin'
11. Jawbreaker
12. A Touch Of Evil
13. Delivering The Goods
14. United
15. Turbo Lover
16. Painkiller
17. Metal Gods

Disc: 2
1. The Hellion
2. Electric Eye
3. Living After Midnight
4. Freewheel Burning
5. Exciter
6. The Green Manalishi (With The Two-Pronged Crown)
7. Blood Red Skies
8. Night Crawler
9. Sinner
10. Hot Rockin'
11. The Sentinel
12. Before The Dawn
13. Hell Patrol
14. The Ripper
15. Screaming For Vengeance
16. Out In The Cold
17. Revolution

Added: June 11th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Judas Priest Website
Hits: 2133
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Judas Priest: The Essential Judas Priest
Posted by Ken Pierce, SoT Staff Writer on 2006-06-11 07:20:56
My Score:

The market has really seen a flood of Judas Priest product on the shelves since the reunion of Rob Halford to the bands lineup. We have seen a career spanning boxed set, three DVD's and a new studio album so was it any surprise when we find a more affordable "Essential" or Anthology being released? If you have been following the band for any number of years and own most of the above as well as their individual remastered back catalog then there is no need for you to purchase this CD. However, if you just want a solid selection of Priest greats for the car, summer house or the office then this is a must have. The two CD collection spans the entire Judas Priest catalog but interesting enough totally bypasses any music recorded by Tim "Ripper" Owens. Perhaps it was due to their being on a different record label or perhaps the band wants you to forget about this music and only focus on the classic lineup. There are a number of good tracks left off the release such as "Desert Plains", "Solar Angels" and "Evening Star" but I am a long time Judas Priest fan and to me there are more rocking tracks than there are lacking ones. For the most part the selected numbers are "essentials" and cream of the crop as far as the band is concerned. Given the omission to a few of my favorites I was still able to find forgiveness for the band by their NOT choosing to give the listener the rendition of "Johnny Be Goode" or "Parental Guidance"; these tracks are no where near essential and I am glad that they have been left off. They include a fold out booklet with some solid liner notes and several good photos from across the bands life they also feature graphics of the entire Judas Priest catalog (even the Ripper ones but that's all you get from those). Two tracks are present from the bands 2005 "Angel Of Retribution" and they serve as bookends to the release in sort of a "here is where we are now" and "here is where we have been" and while I know this was the single, I felt that far better tracks were present on the release than the CD's closer of "Revolution".

Despite my limited reservations on it, the hard core Judas Priest fanatic will purchase this, and load it onto their music player and be strumming that air guitar that Judas Priest music always seems to bring out in a person. Given this, you really can't go wrong. Here's to the Metal Gods! Long may they reign.

» Reader Comments:

Judas Priest: The Essential Judas Priest
Posted by Carlos Canales Vega on 2006-04-25 11:53:51
My Score:

I think this is an excellent selection of tracks.It cover all the bases and is pretty much everything you need to own from Judas.If absent career highlights like Bloodstone and The Rage have been included, it would be a perfect CD.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by