Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Flotsam & Jetsam: Live In Japan (DVD)

Flotsam and Jetsam are considered one of the legendary Thrash bands from when the genre was building up a lot of steam in the early eighties. Despite having some kick ass music the band is most known for having once had Jason Newsted as their bassist. From humble beginnings the bassist went on to join Metallica for several albums. His band mates stuck with it and generated their own level of buzz remaining more of an underground force for Metal rather than something mainstream and easily found on all the Metal stations of the time. Japan was a strong supporter of their music and this concert filmed in Kawasaki at the Club Citta in 2005 finds the band performing their best material before an audience of sold out proportions. Mentioning Overkill at one point the band must have been part of a heavy hitter tour of some kind. The lineup for the DVD stands at Eric A.K. Vocals, Edward Carlson Guitar, Craig Nielsen Drums, Jason Ward - Bass Guitar, & Mark Simpson Guitar. A tight group and overall the concert is a good example of the band since they are performing mainly songs the cult following enjoys. It's enough to give a new listener a fair idea of what the band is all about. There is a bonus video included on the DVD and the performance which runs at 55 minutes offers little else than sufficient head banging. Having recently left Metal Blade Records, this DVD comes to the listener/viewer courtesy of Crash Music. It would have been good for some more biographical information to be given, or perhaps a day in the life of feature that many are incorporating into such presentations. It's good but not great and is more for fans of classical styled Thrash Metal more than those who lean to the Power and Black genres. The other downside is that it is a straight concert shoot and mostly from side stage vantage points, the basic camera work can make this a little boring to watch if you mainly enjoy more visual performers. Be your own judge, but be aware of what you get with this. You'll be pleased if you don't care for much more than concert films but otherwise you might find some disappointment.

Track Listing

  1. Me
  2. No Place For Disgrace
  3. The Master Sleeps
  4. Nothing To Say
  5. Hard On You
  6. Escape From Within
  7. Hammerhead
  8. Doomsday For The Deceiver
  9. Straight To Hell - video

Added: April 16th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Flotsam and Jetsam Website
Hits: 2451
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by