Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

69 Eyes, The: Motor City Resurrection

If you have only recently heard the music of The 69 Eyes and are enjoying their brand of Dark Gothic Rock & Roll, then this CD serves as almost the origin issue to their identity as a band. Reading interviews that have been conducted with lead singer Jyrki69 you will find a man whose band and sound are very influenced by early New York City Punk and the scene that surrounded it. This collection of band classics comes from a time before they adopted the Helsinki Vampire motif and if you were a fan of the sleazy Motley Crue and Pretty Boy Floyd sound you would find a lot in common with the stuff these guys were doing in the beginning. I admit that I found quite a few of the songs to be fun such as "Mrs. Sleazy" and "Stop Bitching!'" but the greatest appeal to me on this CD was the inclusion of all the covers that the band did. Hearing their respectful renditions of classics by KISS, The MC5, Glenn Danzig, Alice Cooper, Iggy Pop and The Stooges, The Dictators & The New York Dolls just truly painted the picture as to what exactly inspired this band. From this part of the collection I really loved the take on "Deuce" that was here since it is so dead-on. A good job is done on the Iggy tune "TV Eye" and the Dolls "Vietnamese Baby" also. As a New Yorker, I was particularly impressed in how influential this group thought my city and its early Punk scene was to their music.

The CD runs 22 tracks and really doesn't disappoint based on what it is out to do; it gives you a healthy dose of their early sound and a lot of their influences as performed by the band themselves. The bands love of horror movies is given some homage as a couple of the tunes have lead ins from classic Sci-Fi and Horror flicks. The bands sound has grown darker over the last few years and their audience is still growing and finding them less a Glam band but now a full fledged Gothic Rock and Roll act. The booklet has a lot of lyrics and photos from which you will be able to see the transformation from how they looked more Glam to how they appear now more Gothic decked in leathers. This is only available as an import edition this is worth searching the bins for or even ordering via Amazon. It's a lot of rocking fun - so stop bitching and give this a chance. There is no place to hide with 69 Eyes watching you.

Track List
1. Discipline
2. Deuce
3. Mrs. Sleazy
4. Hot Butterfly
5. Sugerman
6. Stop Bitching!
7. Barbarella
8. Gimme Some Skin
9. Juicy Lucy
10. The Hills Have Eyes
11. Too Itching For Action
12. No Hesitation
13. Alive
14. Gimme Some Head
15. One-Shot Woman
16. TV Eye
17. Motormouth
18. Return Of The Fly
19. Is It My Body
20. Call Me Animal
21. Vietnamese Baby
22. Science Gone Too Far

Added: April 14th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: 69 Eyes Website
Hits: 2754
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by