Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pride & Glory: Pride & Glory (reissue)

Black Sabbath meets Robin Trower meets Lynyrd Skynyrd on the one and only release from Zakk Wylde's Pride & Glory. Before he let Black Label Society loose on the general public, Zakk took some time off from Ozzy's band to put together this raucous Southern blues metal band that also featured bassist James LoMenzo and drummer Brian Tichy. The results were very strong, very melodic, raunchy hard rock with just enough Southern feel to go along with the metal riffs and wah-wah drenched solos. Wylde really showed his vocal prowess on this one, and combined with his blistering six-string attack turned in a heavy Southern Rock performance heavier than anything this side of Molly Hatchet or Blackfoot.

There's loads of catchy rockers here, like the single "Losin' Your Mind", "Horse Called War", "Troubled Wine", and the crankin' "Harvester of Pain". Fans of more acoustic based stuff will love the sing-along "Lovin' Woman", the piano driven "Sweet Jesus", and the rustic "Cry Me a River". As with every Zakk Wylde release there is plenty of gutsy electric and acoustic guitar wizardy throughout this album-just check out the searing leads on "Toe'n the Line" or "The Chosen One" for proof of this guys prowess on the six-string.

The bonus CD has some cover tunes and three songs left off the original album. All are reason enough to purchase this classic album all over again. I just wish Zakk would resurrect this band and do another album. Perhaps someday.

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Losin' Your Mind
2. Horse Called War
3. Shine On
4. Lovin' Women
5. Harvester Of Pain
6. The Chosen One
7. Sweet Jesus
8. Troubled Wine
9. Machine Gun Man
10. Cry Me A River
11. Toe'n The Line
12. Found A Friend
13. Fadin' Away
14. Hate Your Guts
Disc: 2
1. The Wizard
2. Torn & Tattered
3. In My Time Of Dyin'
4. The Hammer & The Nail
5. Come Together
6. Found a Friend

Added: April 9th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Zakk Wylde Website
Hits: 2171
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by