Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Nimby: Songs for Adults

Speaking of musicians like Bob Drake and David Kerman should bring to every prog/RIO fan's mind Thinking Plague and 5uu's. Their somewhat European RIO-influenced type of avant-garde music earned them a solid reputation during the 80's both in their respective bands and as solo artists.

Nimby is a four-piece band consisting of Jerry Wheeler on lead vocals, trombone, harmonica and whistling (listen to "Detour De Jour"); the amazing David Kerman on drums, percussion, and vocals; main writer James Grigsby on guitars, organs, and vocals; and last but not least the multi-dimensional Bob Drake on vocals, bass guitar, keys, violin, and even the banjo. While most of the songs are sung by Wheeler, Bob Drake appears on perhaps the most avant-garde number "Tattoo Removal", a piece with unexpected melodic twists, odd soundscapes, and neat arrangement. Bob Drake has always been one of the forerunners of the American RIO school of thought, but I've always believed, no matter how experimental and bizarre his compositions may be, he's always had one foot in the rock realm. Perhaps it's because of Drake why "Everybody's Hanging", one of the most atonal pieces on the album, still manages to rock and groove relentlessly, as waves of saxophone and swift guitar changes are incorporated. The lyrics on Songs for Adults are quite humorous, but the band will fearlessly explore themes of death, murder and suicide on the banjo-filled "Thanks Dialysis Man!" or just hum along wordless melodies on the cool bass and percussion-captured "Helper Monkey", with a chorus that is repeated from start to finish. Wheeler's harmonica playing on "The Mass is Crass" embraces both bluegrass and country elements, but it would be daft to imagine any country fan actually listening to it, considering the avant-garde vocal approach applied by the quartet.

Recorded in Southern France in only a few days, the songs are short and compact with a distinct live feel to them. Listeners of these artists' earlier bands will immediately pick up on what was intended with these pieces, while newcomers may find it hard to grasp on first listen. Just looking at the weird song titles should give them an idea of what to expect. For fans of Slapp Happy, 5uu's, Vril, U-Totem and many other experimentalist indie artists.

Track Listing

  1. Slap the Patch
  2. Midlife Crisis
  3. Four Ways to Love
  4. Remember the Time
  5. I'm the Grumpy Old Man Now
  6. Detour De Jour
  7. Tattoo Removal
  8. Everybody's Hanging
  9. Thanks Dialysis Man!
  10. Helper Monkey
  11. Disability Waitress
  12. Empty Words
  13. The Ballad of Nimby
  14. The Mass is Crass
  15. Not in My Backyard

Added: April 5th 2006
Reviewer: Murat Batmaz
Related Link: ReR USA website
Hits: 2408
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by