Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dropsonic: Insects With Angel Wings

Whew, this hard charging Georgian trio (Dan Dixon vocals/guitars, Brian Hunter drums and Dave Chase bass) issue this, their fourth monster slab in the last ten years. A true power trio, the sound comes off as a crunchy articulate reminder of all that was good in the blues based classic rock maelstrom that was the 70ies. Slashing Pagey influenced guitar histrionics (much bouncier though!), thundering bass and Bonham like power and tightness permeate these eleven tracks and in particular on rousers like "Summer's Gone" "Spiders" and the harp/guitar driven intro and bridge in "My Girl" which otherwise has a Chili Pepper's type swagger to it. The closest comparison I can come up with for the vocals is that they are very similar to the harder edged side of Gord Downey of the Tragically Hip.

This is a promising debut with Rowdy Records, a true mix of classic and alternative rock influences. I am sure the boys just smoke big time in a live setting, check em out if they play near you!

Track Listing
1. Summer's Gone
2. Spiders
3. Rotten Luck
4. Everyone's a Stranger
5. It Makes No Difference
6. The Big Nothing
7. Wedding Day
8. My Girl
9. Headless
10. When You Die
11. Insane

Added: March 28th 2006
Reviewer: Mike Blackburn
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2407
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by