Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Jukka Tolonen Band: JTB

A staple of the Finnish jazz/progressive rock scene for well over thirty years, guitarist Jukka Tolonen leads his current band through ten impressive cuts of up-tempo funkified fusion. Wasting no time, the band gets down to business on the infectious "Charter Flight", which reminds me a little of Tolonen's old band Tasavallan Presidentti, circa Milky Way Moses. "Grand Hotel" isn't too dissimilar from early Chicago while "Riven Cocos" has a definite Canterbury flavor to it, especially the twinning of Tolonen's guitar leads with flautist Christer Eklund. "Dancing Bear" is a great funked up number and features searing sax soloing again by Christer Eklund. "Ide & Lardoms+Lilla Lule Alv" is a jamming nine-minute bonus track recorded in 1977 under a slightly different lineup. All told, this is a magnificent CD and highly recommended to fans of Wigwam, Tasavallan Presidentti, Canterbury prog and even Frank Zappa.

Track Listing

  1. Charter Flight
  2. Space Cookie
  3. Grand Hotel
  4. Ping Pong
  5. Riven Cocos
  6. Dancing Bear
  7. Soita Saatana
  8. Arka Halven
  9. Funky Nightmare
  10. Ide & Lardoms, Lilla Lule Alv (Bonus Track)

Added: March 25th 2006
Reviewer: Steve Pettengill
Related Link: Official Jukka Tolonen Web Page
Hits: 2453
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by