Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Annihilator: Ten Years In Hell (DVD)

Annihilator is one of those bands whose music was a little ahead of its time in the Metal realm it first appeared upon. Leader Jeff Waters is an incredible lead guitarist whose craftsmanship on the axe was borderline extraordinary. This factor made Annihilator a little more of an interesting band but perhaps a little bit out of the league of some of their peers. While I only casually was a fan of their music and a couple of their earliest releases, I found that this DVD set was able to make even the most unschooled of listeners an instant study and fan of what was done. Titled 10 Years In Hell the DVD is a showcase of what went on during the first ten years of the bands existence. There is a lot of emphasis on the release Alison Hell and King Of The Kill. The releases by this band proved that Canada could deliver the Metal just as good as anyplace else.

DVD2 is a large collection of interview and archive footage that I felt was outstanding because of the way it was laid out for the viewer. As someone who did not know more than a couple of the popular tunes by the band I found this incredibly interesting as it starts from the bands very beginnings and spans across all of the different line ups that the albums and tours featured. Jeff Waters presents this to a positive effect as he highlights just how hard the band worked when trying to get signed. Hearing the steps and angles that bands had to work to get attention in the pre-internet world of today. There was no MySpace and Email Newsletters in the early days of musical adventures. While most of the interview is focused on Jeff Waters (as the founder and leader of the group) there is also some commentary from Coburn Pharr, Mike Mangini and Neil Goldberg who were part of the band at different points in time. The albums Alice In Hell, Never Neverland, Set The World On Fire, King Of The Kill, Refresh & Remains, and Criteria are discussed in some detail. Fans of these albums will enjoy this DVD the most.

Annihilator's music and Jeff Waters as a guitarist remain influential to some of today's greats. Sadly not all bands that influence are afforded the same accommodation as those who were influenced and this fact makes this DVD a must have item. There is a lot of great stuff that serves as a great "Old School Metal" educator and enough blistering guitar to give Jeff Waters a new generation of followers.

Track Listing
1. Intro
2. Alison Hell
3. Release Party
4. TV Media One
5. Stonewall
6. TV Media Two
7. TV Media Three
8. Backstage
9. Fun Palace Live
10. TV Media Four
11. Set The World On Fire
12. KOTK Back Vocals
13. King Of The Hill
14. Jeff In Japan
15. 21
16. Only Be Lonely
17. Syn.Kill 1
18. Criteria Rehearsal
19. Alison/Homicide
20. Oh Canada
21. Ultraparanoia
22. Pharr Live
23. Rampage Raw
24. End Credits

Added: April 24th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Annihilator Website
Hits: 2103
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Annihilator: Ten Years In Hell (DVD)
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2006-04-24 06:20:53
My Score:

Shame on me for never seeking out Annihilator's music back in the day-honestly, this DVD was my first real exposure to the band. Ten Years In Hell fucoses on Annihilator's first ten years in the metal business, all the way from their Alice In Hell album to releases of the late 90's. These Canadian thrashers, led by guitar ace Jeff Waters, played an interesting style that was part thrash, part technical progressive metal, but mostly classic metal.

The 2DVD set is filled with interviews, live footage, TV show spots, and videos, making it a must have for the Annihilator fan. Altough it would have been nice to include a full show from one of the bands many live concerts, there's plenty of raw live footage from over the years with the many different singer and line-ups that the band employed. Through it all, Waters keeps his vision of Annihilator intact, delivering quality metal time and time again. Fans of early Fates Warning, Atheist, Savatage, and Megadeth will love the music of Annihilator, and should definitely seek this out.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by