Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Scott, Christian: Rewind That

The legacy of such jazz greats like Louis Armstrong, Miles Davis, Freddie Hubbard, Wynton Marsalis, and Terence Blanchard , lives on through 22 year old trumpet phenom Christian Scott. Rewind That is Scott's debut for Concord Records, and what a debut it is. This is music that most would assume only a seasoned veteran could create, but Scott has written 9 of the 11 tracks on the album, and this is as professional sounding and enjoyable a jazz fusion release as you are going to hear. Like some of Miles Davis' mid-to-late 80's material, Rewind That is a swinging yet alternately serious collection of songs that rock, have soul, and funk just a tad. Scott's technique and tone is stellar throughout the album, never once does he blow for the sake of blowing, as his laid back yet expressive style really talks to the lister. He's joined by a wonderful cast of musicians; Walter Smith III & Donald Harrison on saxophones, Matt Stevens on guitar, Zaccai Curtis on Fender Rhodes & Wurlitzer, Luques Curtis on bass, and Thomas Pridgen on drums.

The original songs here are just so intoxicating they draw you right in and never let go. Scott's soothing yet husky tone is all over tunes like "Say It", "Like This", "She", and the bouncy title track. Of course, classic jazz lovers will love the band's take on the Miles Davis classic "So What", as Scott and Harrison (Christian's uncle) take over the roles of Davis and John Coltrane to fiery results, with Curtis plucking away on the acoustic bass. Stevens lays down some sinewy licks on the driving "Lay In Vain" and rocks out on "Suicide", adding some almost Mike Stern firepower to Scott's jazz attack.

This is mature, refreshing, well written, and expertly performed contemporary jazz from a hot young lion who is no doubt going to draw a lot of attention with this release. Remember the name Christian Scott, because I am sure before too long he will be the talk of the jazz community.

Track Listing
1. Rewind That
2. Say It
3. Like This
4. So What
5. Rejection
6. Lay In Vain
7. She
8. Suicide
9. Caught Up
10. Paradise Found
11. Kiel's Theme (Song For My Brother)

Added: March 15th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Concord Music Group
Hits: 2921
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by