Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sabinas Rex: The Legacy of Saints (EP)

Occasionally I will come across a CD where I am left to scratch my head and wonder what the band was either thinking or how they were trying to come across. Sabinas Rex's EP The Legacy Of Saints is one such example. On Sabinas Rex's website (which is not chock full of information to begin with), they classify themselves epic/symphonic metal. And the liner notes of The Legacy Of Saints mentions elements of goth, prog, neoclassical and classic European sound. Put all of those influences together, and unfortunately, all this listener gets out of it is a jumbled mish mash of weird sounding music and lyrics, which reminds me of George Costansa's "world's colliding" theory, for those of you who watch Seinfeld.

Sabinas Rex consists of Vlados Kormos (keyboards, bass, rhythm guitar, vocals), Edwin Shirley (guitar), Teodor Lvovsky (drums), and vocalists Jana Steiger and Baron Misuraca. In their liner notes, they state that they are from NYC, NY, but judging by their names and accents, they are originally from different parts of Europe. Everything else about them is a mystery to me.

Examples of the lyrics, which don't seem to have a clear message in the grand scheme of things, include "My life must be told/ I've seen it all/ I'm not quite ready yet to forge my final destiny……Help me in the midst of my darkness" or "I am face to face with the evil and a world torn apart/ I don't know what lies before me……Music heals/ it brings me life/ viva la musica". As for the music itself, there does not seem to be any continuity, as all 5 songs sound very different, with very little hint of metal. Songs 3 and 5 are devoid of percussion of any kind. Add to that the fact that there are 3 different lead vocalists with considerably different pitches, and it is very hard to discern which direction the music is going.

If you are into a more eccentric goth sound this may be for you, otherwise pass. I am thankful that this EP is only 22 minutes in length.

Track Listing
1. I Will Be Free
2. Viva La Musica
3. Mercy
4. Evil's Faith
5. Hope Of Innocents

Added: March 10th 2006
Reviewer: Jack Toledano
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3375
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by