Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pursuit: Quest

Another first for me here at SoT, the opportunity to review a CD of Christian progressive rock, a genre that I have yet to explore in depth, even though my son and I have played Christian songs in church settings before. The CD in question is by the Christian progressive band Pursuit, who have just released a new CD called Quest. Pursuit hails from Iowa, and consists of vocalist Andrew Zuehlke, drummer John Sebring, and Dan Wolfe, a jack of all trades playing guitar, bass, and keyboards. Dan is quoted on Pursuit's website as stating that their influences include Kansas, ELP, Rush and Yes. After giving Quest a few listens, one can definitely pick up the similarities to Kansas, ELP, as well as Rainbow, and occasionally to Dream Theater.

As for the music itself, it is indeed very progressive and melodic. While it is not very heavy, as in some of the more heavy prog sounds of Symphony X and Dream Theater, it is not as light as one might expect when hearing that it is associated with Christian music. Pursuit's Quest CD does indeed have its share of heavy guitar and keyboard sounds, and while the guitar is more of a heavy rhythm style, Quest does have its share of great guitar shredding on "Good Fight", "Quest" (title track), "Restless", and "His Kingdom". As for Dan Wolfe, he does a superb job bringing it all together musically, as he is the backbone of the band, playing all of the guitars, the keyboards, and most of the bass playing as well. And speaking of the songs, pretty much every song is a highlight in one way or another, so no need to list them here. Initially I was going to say that some of the lyrics were a bit cheesy, until I went onto Pursuit's site and discovered that they are indeed a Christian prog rock band. So I take back my critique about the lyrics.

If you are a fan of prog, and are looking for something a bit different, or for something a little more spiritual, this may be for you, as the music alone is worth the listen.

Track Listing
1. Good Fight
2. Automaton
3. The Feeling of Tomorrow's Better
4. Quest
5. Restless
6. Answer The Call
7. Time
8. Your Power
9. Song Of Victory
10. His Kingdom

Added: March 10th 2006
Reviewer: Jack Toledano
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 3558
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by