Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Krisiun: Live Armageddon (DVD)

Most death metal acts really show their true colors live on stage, and Brazil's Krisiun are no exception. Live Armageddon is the band's first live DVD, and includes two full sets from 2004, one from the MetalMania festival in Poland, and one club gig in their hometown of Sao Paolo, Brazil. In addition, there is footage from The Wacken Open Air Festival in 2001, studio clips, and a video for "Murderer".

Of the two main sets, I preferred the Sao Paolo show the best. The band seemed tighter and more charged up playing in front of their hometown crowd, and the set list, while similar to the MetalMania show, has a few extra songs. Both sets include killer cuts like "Dawn of Flagellation", "Murdered", "Ethereal World", "Wolfen Tyranny", and the classic "Conqueror of Armageddon", but the Brazil show includes a cover of Venom's "In League With Satan" (nicely done by the way), and Krisiun burners like "Works of Carnage", the intricate "Ageless Venemous", "Soul Devourer", and "Apocalyptic Victory". Drummer Max Kolesne is a total monster to behold, as his array of thunderous double bass drums and blast beats provides ample ammunition for his brother Moyses to launch his massive death metal riffs and wild solos. Bassist/lead vocalist Alex Camargo is pretty nimble himself with the bass, trading unison lines with Moyses on many occasions, his vocals do get a little one-dimensional at times, especially in the Poland show, but he fares much better at the club gig in Sao Paolo. Both shows are well shot, especially the festival gig, but the club set has a warmness and intimacy to it, as you get plenty of close-ups of the band and some of the crowd as well, plus the sound of this set has a little more bottom end and heavier guitar sound than the Poland set.

The Wacken footage though is pretty worthless, as it was recorded from the side of the stage probably with a camcorder. It's only 2 songs and a short drum solo, but the camera work is all over the place, and the sound is awful. For Krisiun fans though, the historical implications of the footage is worth seeing, as the band was playing in front of a large audience at a very prestigious festival. The "in the studio" footage is fun, and the video clip of the song "Murderer" actually portrays the band as a real heavy hitter of the genre, and is a fun watch. There's also a band biography, discography, photo gallery, weblinks, and other assorted goodies, making this a well-stocked DVD of Krisiun memorabilia for the die-hard as well as new fan.

Track Listing
MetalMania 2004

  1. Hatred Inherit
  2. Thorns of Heaven
  3. Dawn of Flagellation
  4. Murderer
  5. Ethereal World
  6. Vengeance's Revelation
  7. Wolfen Tyranny
  8. Conquerors of Armageddon
  9. King of Killing

Live in Sao Paolo 2004
  1. Dawn of Flagellation
  2. Murderer
  3. Ethereal World
  4. Soul Devourer
  5. Vengeance's Revelation
  6. Ageless Venemous
  7. Drum Solo
  8. Wolfen Tyranny
  9. Conquerors of Armageddon
  10. In League With Satan
  11. Works of Carnage
  12. Apocalyptic Victory

Bootlegged at Wacken 2001
  1. Conquerors of Armageddon
  2. Drum Solo
  3. Vengeance's Revelation

Bonus Material-Works of Carnage (recording sessions), Murderer (video clip), biography, discography, photo gallery, desktop images, weblinks.

Added: February 26th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Krisiun Website
Hits: 2861
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by