Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Queensryche: Live Evolution

With Live Evolution, Queensryche has given their fans the type of album that other artists would be smart to release. The album is not only a killer live recording, it is also a career expansive journey into each of their albums and features songs from the self-titled EP all the way up until Q2K. A companion DVD was released at the same time, which offers you the full visual of being present at a Queensryche show. I admit, I preferred watching as opposed to listening, since The Ryche is such a great band in concert. As on the DVD, the group sets the album up in sections that cover specific ranges of their releases. CD1 is the better of the two, in my opinion, as that is the earliest stuff from the self-titled EP until Operation Mindcrime. Given that it includes nine tracks from that album alone, you'll find a nice comparison of how the band sounds several years after the recording of Operation: Live Crime. By that point in Queensryche's career, the band had lost guitarist Chris DeGarmo. He was replaced with Kelly Gray. who did a fine job on the material. The rest of the original lineup remained strong with Tate, Rockenfield, Wilton and Jackson. CD2 is only half strong, as it includes music from Empire and Promised Land (their last decent studio release, in my opinion). The remainder of the disc features tracks from Hear In The Now Frontier as well as the dismal Q2K which was met with critical lambasting.

Despite my misgivings on some of the inclusions, this is a worthwhile CD for any Queensryche fan to own, especially if you lean more to audio than to video. Containing 29 tracks is nothing to sneeze at, as it ensures that there is something for everyone on it. Newer fans might prefer the stuff that I dislike and vice versa. Either way, this is a fine example of Queensryche in concert. That alone makes this a must-have.

Track Listing

  1. NM 156
  2. Walk In The Shadows
  3. Roads To Madness
  4. The Lady Wore Black
  5. London
  6. Screaming In Digital
  7. Take Hold Of The Flame
  8. Queen Of The Reich
  9. I Remember Now
  10. Revolution Calling
  11. Spreading The Disease
  12. Electric Requiem
  13. Spreading The Disease (Part II)
  14. The Mission
  15. Suite Sister Mary
  16. I Don't Believe In Love
  17. Eyes Of A Stranger
  18. I Am I
  19. Damaged
  20. Empire
  21. Silent Lucidity
  22. Another Rainy Night
  23. Jet City Woman
  24. Liquid Sky
  25. Sacred Ground
  26. Falling Down
  27. Hit The Black
  28. Breakdown
  29. The Right Side Of My Mind

Added: February 13th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Queensryche Website
Hits: 3635
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by