Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pablo El Enterrador: Pablo El Enterrador (remaster)

Originally issued in 1983, just as Marillion, Pendragon and IQ were beginning to make waves in the UK underground for their fresh modern approach to progressive rock, Argentina's Pablo "El Enterrador" (I confess I don't know the significance of the quotation marks) opted for a more traditional 70s sound. Pablo's music was very much in the vein of Camel, Locanda Della Fate and Genesis and aside from one notable exception on the album under review, largely bypassed the commercialisms of the so-called British neo-prog movement.

Looking back nearly twenty-five years later, it's a pity that the band only issued one album and seemingly disappeared for several years because the self-titled release showed so much promise. What you do get is plenty of highly competent guitar/keyboard interplay, a solid rhythm section and agreeable if unremarkable Spanish vocals. Every track on the album proper is a winner, save for the wretched Flashdance style pop of "Accionista". That song is so dreadfully misplaced and laughably outdated, I'm not sure why the band didn't just scrap it altogether, if only for continuity's sake. "Ilusion en Siete Octavos" and "La Herencia de Pablo" are the featured instrumentals wherein the dueling keyboards of Jorge Antun and Omar Lopez get a real workout; lovers of the Minimoog will flip when they hear these songs. Likewise, tracks such as "Carrousell de la Vieja Idiotez" and "Elefantes de Papel" are fine examples of romantic, easily digestible symphonic rock. The bonus tracks were recorded at a festival in 1985 and while they aren't of the same caliber as the main album, they are worth a listen.

Audiophiles may want to note that the sound quality really isn't much different from the Progressive Rock Worldwide version from a few years back. I suppose the masters were lost long ago, because either CD version sounds like a slightly warbled cassette tape. The one and only "improvement" contained in the new remaster is that it is a little louder. The older version had better packaging and the new one has bonus tracks, so take your pick. While Pablo "El Enterrador" doesn't quite reach classic status of say, fellow countrymen Crucis or Espiritu, it's well worth the effort to complete your Argentinean collection with whichever CD version you can find of this forgotten gem.

Track Listing

  1. Carrousell de la Vieja Idiotez (5:37)
  2. Elefantes de Papel (5:04)
  3. Quien Gira y Quien Suena (5:43)
  4. Ilusion en Siete Octavos (4:50)
  5. Accionista (3:15)
  6. Dentro del Corral (6:02)
  7. Espiritu Esfumado (3:50)
  8. La Herencia de Pablo (7:16)
Bonus Tracks
  1. Celeste Cielo (3:44)
  2. Bananas (3:05)
  3. Se Tu Payaso (5:51)
  4. Los Juegos del Hombre (4:52)

Added: February 11th 2006
Reviewer: Steve Pettengill
Related Link: Viajero Inmovil Records Web Page
Hits: 3578
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by