Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sicbay: Suspicious Icons

Suspicious Icons is the third release from Minneapolis-based Sicbay. This release, on 54'40 or Fight, is a collection of 10 songs, each of which has the same guitar riff-laden soundscape, with rhythm section fills and very average growl-based vocals by Nick Sakes (except for The Rise of Phantom White song by Dave Erb).

The lack of diversity would be bad enough, but this CD also doesn't contain much original thought. It is pretty straight forward riff, riff, solo, riff, fill, riff, etc. for about 40 minutes. If you took any individual section or song, you probably would find quite a bit to like. There really aren't any terribly weak songs; but then again there aren't any standouts. Suspicious Icons is basically just one good song that repeats itself over and over.

Track Listing
1. Suspicious Icons
2. Lackluster Blooms
3. Inhuman Resources
4. Rise Of Phantom White, The
5. Riposte In Pieces
6. Gamma Free
7. Paper Blanket, The
8. Tears Of The Siren
9. Suffering Submarines
10. Roiling The Panacea

Added: February 2nd 2006
Reviewer: Steve Ambrosius
Related Link: 54'40 or Fight
Hits: 2469
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by