Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Overgarven: Promo 2005

Overgarven have sent in a 5-track disc simply titled Promo 2005 which they hope will help them secure a deal with a record label for their debut album titled Just A Fake. This is a Greek band with six members playing melodic death metal with power metal sensibilities. Starting with "Bleeding World", the band introduce themselves with a great mix of acoustic guitars and keyboards where growling death vocals meet angelic female harmonies and the song moves from slow to midtempo throughout. Almost all songs feature great melodic solo guitar that Euro power metal band fans should enjoy immensely.

The drumming on "Just A Fake" opens the song, and Teo catches my attention with his great tone. Actually the whole promo disc has great sonics thanks to the crisp mixing job. The guitars on the title track are somewhat thrashier than the otherwise melodic stuff, but the song is still full of big harmonies, soaring vocals, and interesting lead work. The riffs in the intro of "Shattered Values" may be the best on the album. They are tight and the chord changes are smoothly executed. Vocalist Kostas' voice seems doubled on this piece and adds a new dimension to the track. Similarly, "...Rehenta" sees the singer using his voice in two different styles, ranging from his low gutteral singing to the more shrieking screams. This is basically a power metal tune with some extreme vocals laid on top of it. The symphonic orchestration and spoken passages at the end are good too. The last piece "Let Me Die", much like the first song, kicks in with beautiful acoustic guitars and clean vocals. Kostas and the band might consider going for a more straightforward melodic metal style, utilising his rich delivery, since I don't really consider Overgraven a truly death metal act aside from the the death growls. That said, there's nothing wrong with the extreme vocals, which remind me of a lower range Mikael Stanne in his earlier days.

Let's see if this promo helps the band find a label that might be interested in promoting and distributing them.

Track Listing

  1. Bleeding World
  2. Just A Fake
  3. Shattered Values
  4. ...Rehenta
  5. Let Me Die

Added: February 2nd 2006
Reviewer: Murat Batmaz
Related Link: Overgraven website
Hits: 1737
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by