Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Oresund Space Collective: Øresund Space Collective

The Øresund Space Collective is a fairly new band who have only been around since 2004. Made up of musicians from Denmark, Sweden amd the US (and who are also currently in other groups), these guys play an improvised form of space rock and jazz that also hints at funk, prog, and reggae. Think Tangerine Dream or Ozric Tentacles via the way of Return to Forever and Weather Report, and you have somewhat of an idea what to expect here. Even though these are improvised jams, the music never meanders, and for the most part sounds pretty structured. 60's styled Fender Rhodes and organ sounds mix with fluttering and chirping synths, while guitars explore into deep dark space and the drums & bass rumble and groove. Most of the tracks are fairly lengthy and allow for ample time for the band to breathe, solo, and groove. "Consumed By the Goblin" is one of my favorite pieces, with its 70's fusion feel and space rock explorations. What's great about the music of Øresund Space Collective as opposed to the Ozric's is that their music is not repetitive at all, and the jazz & fusion elements allow their songs to branch off in many different directions, which makes for an exciting listen. A song like "OSC Bolero" for instance, features tight rhythmic frunk grooves, but then the song branches off into a light jazz fusion piece highlighted by a melodic extended synth solo. If you like your space rock futuristic and haunting, these's plenty of that as well, especially the chilling "Falling Stardrops" and the eerie 1-2 punch of "Moonhead" and "Sundown", both featuring a wide assortment of 70's styled synth and Fender Rhodes passages.

The band offers many of their jam sessions on their website in MP3 format for listeners to check out for free, which is a pretty nice gesture in this day and age. You really can't beat this studio recording however, which is thoroughly enjoyable improvised music that pleases on all levels.

Track Listing
1) Faked it All the Way
2) Consumed By the Goblin
3) OSC Bolero
4) Falling Stardrops
5) Grab a Cab
6) Moonhead
7) Sundown

Added: January 17th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2425
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by