Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Phideaux: Chupacabras

Phideaux is a project between singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Phideaux Xavier and drummer Rich Hutchins. The duo also have the help of a host of other musicians who help out with vocals, flutes, keyboards, cellos, and all sorts of other instruments. The resulting Chupacabras, their fourth album, is an uplifiting mix of prog, space rock, and melodic pop. Upon listening to this release, I instantly thought of Man on Fire, Todd Rundgren's Utopia, Tangerine Dream, Genesis, and perhaps a little David Bowie. There's plenty to like here, from the epic title track, complete with an array of male and female vocals (that are quite stunning actually), various reeds, lots of Mellotron and other keyboards, guitar and percussion, to the warm proggy sounds of "Party" and "Fortress of Sand". On the other hand, if you like more aggressive material, "Ruffian on the Stairs" starts off with an onslaught of metal guitars, before turning into a dark and moody blend of electronica and progressive metal. "Titan" goes the opposite direction, combining gripping melancholy with haunting vocals, melodic guitars, and spacey keyboards, giving the song a sort of Porcupine Tree or Pink Floyd feel. This was a song that was originally written while Xavier was in the band Satyricon, and here it's given a real majestic treatment. The alternating between Xavier's vocals and that of Valerie Gracious works quite well.

In doing a little research, I found out that Chupacabras is actually reported to be an animal native to Mexico and Puerto Rico that is notorious for attacking and consuming the blood of livestock. This "goat sucker" could perhaps be a urban legend or a real beast, but regardless, it's an interesting creature to name an album after. As for the album, this is a fun collection of songs that would appeal to a wide variety of listeners, as it has enough elements of prog, space/ambient, pop, and heavy rock to fit many molds.

Track listing
1. Okay
2. Chupacabras
3. Party
4. Fortress Of Sand
5. Ruffian On The Stairs
6. Sunburnt
7. Return Of The Ruffian
8. Titan

Added: January 16th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 5074
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by