Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tubes, The: Wild in London

"Step right up, and don't be shy!"

The Tubes have long been a mainstay in rock music, more so as a cult phenomenon than a commercial best selling act, but they have managed to have some long lasting songs that have remained on FM radio for over 35 years. Songs like the above quoted "She's A Beauty" and the pseudo-metal "Talk To Ya Later" are humorous rock anthems sprinkled with elements of funk, pop, metal, and prog, that are pretty familiar with most rock fans even if many might not know who the hell actually sang the songs. This live set, recorded at London's Shepherd's Bush Empire theatre on December 6th, 2004, is a spirited affair through many Tubes staples like the ones already mentioned as well as "White Punks on Dope" and "Don't Want to Wait Anymore".

Lead singer and frontman Fee Waybill is the focus of The Tubes, and still possesses that charismatic quality that carries the band through their live performances with his vocal abilities, costume changes, and between song banter. There's some interesting moments on this set, like the Country & Western opening to "She's A Beauty", the 50's doo-wop meets vaudeville of "Don't Touch Me There" (featuring a Waybill duet with a female singer Beri Bondage), the latin romanticism of "Malaguena Salarosa", and the Todd Rundgren influenced heavy rock meets new wave "No Way Out", featuring great backing vocals and fiery guitar work from Roger Steen. The band also dives into a song from their first album called "Haloes", which apparently they had never played live before this particular show.

There's plenty of vintage Tubes here as well, like the funky vibe of "Tip of My Tongue", featuring some hot guitar licks from Steen, jazzy keyboards, and the gymnastic drums of longtime member Prairie Prince. Other songs like "Mondo Bondage" and "TV is King" are your typical uptempo Tubes songs, littered with catchy vocals and plenty of instrumental firepower. The entire set shows just how versatile an act these guys have been over the years, and judging by the results here they can still deliver the goods.

Track Listings
1. Overature
2. She's a Beauty
3. Don't Touch Me There
4. Malaguena Salarosa
5. Russell Chaps (Intro)
6. Tip of My Tongue
7. Don't Want to Wait Anymore
8. TV Is King
9. No Way Out
10. Let There Be Drums
11. White Punks on Dope
12. Mondo Bondage
13. Haloes
14. Talk to Ya Later

Added: January 6th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: The Tubes Website
Hits: 2891
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by