Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lynch, George: The Lost Anthology

The new 2 CD set, George Lynch-The Lost Anthology is a good retrospective on one of the most influential guitarist of the '80's and '90's. This CD set takes a very cool look back into George Lynch's guitar pyromania, starting at its very earliest of forms. CD 1 starts with WAY unreleased material from George's band "A", and then "The Boyz" (yes, this is from the '80's, kids!!). If you're like me, I had never even heard of the band "A", and barely heard Lynch himself mention The Boyz in old guitar magazines. But, the next band on the CD is "Xciter". Now, Lynch has talked about this band in countless interviews, and this is really his first "real" band. Xciter, was the band that Lynch was in directly before joining Dokken, and they were a pretty polished band, during the L.A., Van Halen club days era. A very young "Mr.Scary", shows why and how he's earned that moniker. He was just ON FIRE! There is a great Xciter version of "Paris Is Burning" that Lynch just rips on! This CD set is almost worth the price just for this! Next up is the Dokken days. There is some nice unreleased material, like "Going Under" and "When The Good Die Young", live cuts like "Turn on the Action" & even a Lynch instrumental, called "Cry Again". Very "Mr.Scary"-ish Guitar Pyrotechnics here!!

Disc 2 begins with Robert Mason era Lynch Mob. More unreleased material here, "Candy Coated" and "Invitation" are just two of the unreleased tunes, and there is also cool live version of Dokken's "Tooth and Nail". There is even material on here by a short lived project with former Saigon Kick singer, Matt Kramer called Stonehouse. Then onto different collaborations that Mr.Lynch has worked on over the years. Songs with Motley Crue's Vince Neil, LA Guns' Phil Lewis and ex Motley Crue, ex Ratt and ex The Scream singer extraordinaire, John Corabi are the highlights here.

All and all, this is a nice set for the George Lynch fan. Lots of material that you will not find elsewhere. Lynch doesn't disappoint & brings the fire on of all the tracks. If George Lynch has been a favorite guitar player or a guitar hero of yours then this is the retrospective CD for you! George Lynch has been delivering the goods for years, and this is a great look back into much of the unheard, unreleased and very rare material of one of Hard Rock and Metal's guitar gods of the past 20 years! Mr. Scary Lives!!

Track Listing
1.) Thinking About You
The Boyz
2.) Nite Boyz
3.) Sleepless Nights
4.) It's Alive
5.) Paris Is Burning
6.) Heartless Heart (Live)
7.) Jailhouse Rock (Live)
8.) House On Fire (Live)
9.) I've Been Waiting
10.) Going Under
11.) In The Middle (Live)
12.) Cry Again
13.) Lost Behind The Wall (Live)
14.) Turn On The Action (Live)
15.) When The Good Die Young

Lynch Mob
1.) Candy Coated Sin
2.) Invitation
3.) Tooth & Nail (Live)
4.) Closer
5.) Deepen
6.) If God Could Hear Me Now
7.) Nothing
8.) Dust
9.) Bulldog Tyranny
Vince Neil/George Lynch
John Corabi/George Lynch
11.)He's A Woman, She's A Man
Phil Lewis/George Lynch
12.) Billion Dollar Babies
Stephen Pearcy/George Lynch
13.) Round and Round
Icarus Witch/George Lynch
15.) S.A.T.O.

Added: January 5th 2006
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 4171
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by