Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Motorhead: Stage Fright (DVD)

For thirty-years Motorhead has proven to audiences that a Metal Rock band does not need to be over the top technically and instead be simple, catchy and very, very LOUD. Those that have seen Motorhead in concert know that all these traits are tried and true and as a memento of their tour in support of Inferno, Lemmy and Company have unleashed Stage fright upon the world. While the album for this tour was on Sanctuary Records, we find the DVD released by SPV Records and those who have seen recent products of this nature know that SPV really knows how to give you a good value for the money. The double DVD set includes the full concert (and being someone who attended a recent show this is to the song just minus the Mikkey Dee drum solo) as well as a second DVD loaded with bonus features. The concert itself is full of classic numbers and even a couple of obscure and hardly played ones. In addition to the fan favorites of "Ace Of Spades", "Killed By Death", and "Iron Fist" Lemmy hits the audience with selections from "Another Perfect Day" which he reminds the audience was their least enjoyed album in the public eye. Two numbers appear from this album and seem to go over well after the years had passed by. Besides the classics or staple favorites I was happy to see "RAMONES" and "Going To Brazil" as I personally find those very fun numbers in the live sense. There is also a fair sampling of the "Inferno" album which is a "must buy" if you are a fan. The band has not sounded this good on record in years in my humble opinion. I was lucky to catch the final US appearance of the guys for this tour and for a change I got to see "Overkill". You see the band used strobes for the entire song and in the club setting it made watching the band almost unbearable. I remember walking through the crowd that night to find friends and it felt like I was moving in slow motion. It was one of my many memories from a truly kick ass rock and roll show.

Production wise this DVD is top notch and the recording/filming is from a show to a sold-out crowd in Dusseldorf Germany. The members of the group joining Lemmy are Phil Campbell (a 20 year veteran on the guitar) and Mikkey Dee (drums). With no disrespect to the original three line up I really think this is the tightest the band has been and perhaps it's because with age grew wisdom. The primary amount of features on DVD 2 is backstage interviews and the like. There is a great segment entitled "We Are The Road Crew" and what makes that special is all of the commentary from the folks who make sure the band can play their best each and every night. Motorhead has long been appreciative of this bunch and even penned a song for them. That song does not appear on the DVD in case you were wondering. There is also a segment with the Fans and some testimonials that are fun to watch. Packed in a slim case the DVD also includes a 16 page color booklet. There is a couple of great band photos and commentary from Lemmy.

This is a great DVD to own if you are a Motorhead fan or perhaps someone who is still afraid of checking out the band in the live sense since it truly gives you a picture of them that is worthy for any music DVD collector. The existing fans will view it as the next piece in the collection as SPV also released the 25th Anniversary concert (information about that one is for another review). I liked this and I consider myself the closet Motorhead fan with a few favorite tunes and a love of their delivery live. Given that I think a wide variety of people should check this out. Lemmy starts the show by saying "We Are Motorhead and We play Rock and Roll". He isn't kidding folks, he isn't kidding. Raise your pint to the next thirty years.

Track Listing

  1. Dr. Rock
  2. Stay Clean
  3. Shoot You In The Back
  4. Love You Like A Reptile
  5. Killers
  6. Metropolis
  7. Over The Top
  8. No Class
  9. I Got Mine
  10. In The Name Of Tragedy
  11. Dancing On Your Grave
  12. R.A.M.O.N.E.S.
  13. Sacrifice
  14. Just 'Cos You Got The Power
  15. Going To Brazil
  16. Killed By Death
  17. Iron Fist
  18. Whorehouse Blues
  19. Ace Of Spades
  20. Overkill - encore

Added: January 5th 2006
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Motorhead Website
Hits: 3807
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Motorhead: Stage Fright (DVD)
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2006-01-05 07:21:35
My Score:

Stage Fright is one hell of a Motorhead experience ladies and gentleman. Two DVD's, one a full concert recorded in Germany 2004 hot on the heels of the release of Inferno, and a second jammed swith interviews, documentaries, and other assorted fun stuff. Housed in a lavish package containing a great booklet/tour program, this is an essential purchase for the Motorhead enthusiast.

Twenty songs are played in the show, and you get Motorhead classics old and new, like "Iron Fist", "Ace of Spades", "Overkill", "No Class", 'Dancing on Your Grave", and "Metropolis", as well as the newer tunes such as "Killed By Death", "Going to Brazil", "Dr.Rock", and many others. The line-up of Lemmy, Mickey Dee, and Phil Campbell is perhaps the best incarnation of the band, as the many years together have made them tight and powerful. The production of this show is excellent, with great camera work (that captures both the band and crowd masterfully), sound, and editing.

In short, if you have any interest in this legendary band, this DVD needs to find its way into your collection. 'Nuff said!

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by