Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Impaled Nazarene: Death Comes in 26 Carefully Selected Pieces

Death Comes in 26 Carefully Selected Pieces not only celebrates Finnish old school black metal band Impaled Nazarene's 15th year in their career, but it also marks the release of their first live album ever. Containing 26 tracks, the CD plays out for nearly 70 minutes and covers songs from the band's first EP to their last album All That You Fear. Recorded in their homeland in Helsinki in the end of 2004, the album demonstrates Impaled Nazarene's unmatched energy on stage with staggering guitar, bass and drum performances, and sickeningly good vocals that range from punk-infested Motorhead-like screams, deep growls, clear melodic voices, and extremely toxic black metal screaming.

Having been recorded in Finland, Mika Luttinen anounces the songs in Finnish during the show and and never speaks English except for the song titles. The audience is frantic and overjoyed, ready for the next mosh pit (and they sound drunk too), while the band performs a highly impressive show that is better than most other live black and death metal albums in both production and spontaneity. The melodically addictive guitars on the sublime opening track titled "Intro", punishingly heavy and independent bass arpeggios on pieces like "Motorpenis" and "We're Satan's Generation", and the awesome drum pattern that opens "The Endless War", the blastbeats on "Tribulation Hell" or the fantastic kick drum tone on "Sadogoat" all do a great job depicting the ultra-energetic slabs of old school black metal married with a plethora of other genres including punk, death metal, and classic rock. Speedy, blackened thrash riffs define the Finnish-sung "Kohta el Naura Enaa Jeesuskaan", while crunch and gentle melodies are squeezed into "The Endless War", a song that just cements every opinion that this album is the band's interpretation of the studio versions of their songs, creating sick atmospheres that are generated by furiously picked guitar chords on "Soul Rape" or slowly building riffs that evolve into vicious barrages of war-guitar sounds. "Goat Seeds of Doom" is a mandatory headbanging number with angry vocals, catchy hooks, and a pulverizing combo of bass and drum intensity.

Although I'm not a very big fan of all Impaled Nazarene albums, as I tend to gravitate towards the Taneli Jarva era a bit more, I feel this is essential to any fan of old school black metal.

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. The Horny and the Horned
  3. Armageddon Death Squad
  4. Goat Perversion
  5. 1999: Karmageddon Warriors
  6. Motorpenis
  7. Kohta Ei Naura Enää Jeesuskaan
  8. The Endless War
  9. Sadhu Satana
  10. Ghettoblaster
  11. Coraxo
  12. Soul Rape
  13. Sadistic 666/Under A Golden Shower
  14. Zero Tolerance
  15. The Maggot Crusher
  16. Let's Fucking Die
  17. Tribulation Hell
  18. We're Satan's Generation
  19. Cogito Ergo Sum
  20. Goat Seeds Of Doom
  21. Condemned To Hell
  22. Intro S.F.P.
  23. Sadogoat
  24. Vitutuksen Multihuipennus
  25. The Lost Art of Goat Sacrificing
  26. Total War – Winter War

Added: December 25th 2005
Reviewer: Murat Batmaz
Related Link: Impaled Nazarene website
Hits: 4274
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by