Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shadows of Light: Let There Be Light

The Nashville four-piece Shadows of Light boasts a heavy, powerful and melodic sound that may be ready for radio but lacks much depth or diversity. (Then again, that seems to be what radio wants these days.) The band's big claim to fame is that short-lived Savatage vocalist Damond Jiniya also briefly fronted Shadows of Light, but Let There Be Light sounds nothing like a Savatage album despite its seven dark, thick and usually melodic tracks punctuated by Michael Ashley's raw vocals and Tim Gleaves' jagged guitar work. A few songs tend to hold up to repeat listens ("On the Surface," "Just Not Enough"), but with a running time of less than 33 minutes, there's not a whole lot of shining moments on Let There Be Light. That said, considering the state of American mainstream rock these days, Shadows of Light could wind up becoming huge.

Track Listing:
1) Hurt By You
2) Just Not Enough
3) Feedback
4) In the Beginning
5) Black Magic
6) In Store For Me
7) On the Surface

Added: December 20th 2005
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Shadows of Light Web Site
Hits: 2335
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by