Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Doro: Classic Diamonds (DVD)

For Doro fans, and especially those that appreciate the now common meshing of heavy rock with orchestra, Classic Diamonds-The DVD should be a must have. This content packed DVD contains about three hours of live footage, interviews, videos, TV spots, and backstage looks at the 2004 tour that Doro and her band did with the Classic Night Orchestra. Seeing as much of Doro's music has a symphonic edge to it anyway, it mixes well with the orchestra, and they play a batch of her classic songs as well as a few metal covers. Of the covers, Iron Maiden's "Fear of the Dark" is given a royal treatment at the Wacken show, although it seemed a bit strange to see sacked Maiden singer Blaze Bayley up there joining Doro on vocals. Judas Priest's "Breaking the Law" sees a neat classical spin added to it thanks to the orchestral arrangements. Savatage/TSO guitarist Chris Caffery also joins the fun with some blistering lead work on Doro staples "Fur Immer", "Love Rain on Me" and the showstopper "All We Are"

The camera work and sound for both shows is extremely well done, and while the Wacken show is on a much grander scale, the Hamburg show is more intimate, as the band and orchestra really resonate on songs like "I Rule the Ruins" and "Metal Tango". Doro still has a great voice even after being on the scene for so many years, and it's a shame her soaring vocal talents don't get mentioned as often as some other female singers on the hard rock & metal scene do. For some majestic hard rock sounds with a classical twist, this is a highly recommended DVD that is just filled with hours of fun for all Doro fanatics.

"Live in Wacken 2004"
01 Intro
02 Fear Of The Dark
03 I Rule The Ruins
04 Touch Of Evil
05 Metal Tango
06 Für Immer
07 Let Love Rain On Me
08 Breaking The Law
09 All We Are
Impressions of the Tour-Backstage Footage/Interviews
"Live In Hamburg 2004"
10 I Rule The Ruins
11 Metal Tango
12 She's Like Thunder
13 Let Love Rain On Me
14 Hellraiser
15 Touch Of Evil
16 Fall For Me Again
17 Tausend Mal Gelebt
18 Breaking The Law
19 Fear Of The Dark
20 All We Are
21 Outro
Exras-Video Clips, Live Footage, TV Appearances

Added: December 12th 2005
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Official Doro Website
Hits: 2782
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by