Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

3: Wake Pig

Take the better elements of My Chemical Romance, Coheed & Cambria, Tool, include rapid-fire acoustic guitar infused with dynamic percussion, energetic drumming, heart stammering bass, and you have the band 3. Hailing from Woodstock, NY, the band formed in the mid 1990's, immediately accruing a strong local following. After a couple releases on Planet Noise Records, they caught the attention of Metal Blade Records, and this current album called Wake Pig is a re-release, which includes updated art, lyrics, two new songs, and additional vocals from Max on "Where's Max".

3 offers up their brand of musicality without pretension, while the lyrics focus on spirituality without connection to religion. Poly-rhythms pulse within a symphony of driving metal guitars and melodic vocal acrobatics, easily transcending the limitations of genre definition. The album takes the listener on a journey of many emotions and impressions, no doubt as a result from the unique influence of this hard-to-classify yet talented group. Boasting over 32,000 plays on their MySpace page, over 121,000 downloads on, performances at Woodstock in 1994 & 1999, and sharing the stage with Coheed & Cambira, Boys Night Out, Underoath, Bad Brains, The Bronx, Vendetta Red, and Orange 9mm, this dark yet uplifting band is sure to make waves during 2006.

Track Listing
1. Alien Angel
2. Monster
3. Dregs
4. Wake Pig
5. Bramfatura
6. Trust
7. Dogs of War
8. Soul to Sell
9. One Way Town* - New Track
10. Queen
11. Circus without Clowns * - New Track
12. Where's Max* - feat vocals by Max Olsen
13. Amaze Disgrace

Added: June 7th 2006
Reviewer: Suzanna Paradise
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4605
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

3: Wake Pig
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2006-06-07 14:32:46
My Score:

First impressions on hearing 3's Wake Pig are "why is this band signed to Metal Blade" and "when are they going to be headlining arena shows and in wind up in regular video and radio rotation"? That said, the music of 3 is not necessarily my cup of tea, but I can certainly see these guys catching on in a big way with the mainstream music public. This is not metal by any stretch of the imagination, as the norm here is a plethora of jangly acoustic and electric guitars, melodic vocals, and some tricky rhythms. Occasional musical references to Primus, Tool, and Coheed & Cambria can be heard, but for the most part what you get is a sometimes poppy, sometimes psychedlic, always spacey & dreamy sound. The vocals of Joey Eppard are ultimately what is going to break this band, as he has a catchy and unique voice that is highly melodic and even soothing at times.

If your tastes run to the pop end of the hard rock spectrum, give 3's Wake Pig a try, but should you desire heavier and more progressive sounds, I suggest you give a listen first before buying.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by