Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sepultura: Live in Sao Paulo

Live in Sao Paulo is the first live set from Sepultura featuring singer Derrick Green, the replacement for the iconic Max Cavalera after he left the band to form Soulfy. While Max's solid rhythm guitar work and trademark vocal delivery are missed, Green more than holds his own through 2 CD's of classic and newer Sepultura favorites. Those new to the Sepultura sound can expect a brutal mix of thrash, death metal, and hardcore, mixed with some Brazilian instrumentation. The band sure know how to pummel the listener into submission-take one listen to the rampaging brutality of "Escape to the Void", a song that contains blistering guitar riffs, monolithic vocals, and the manic drum work of Igor Cavalera. Fans of the band will be happy to know that killer tracks like "Slave New World", 'Chaos AD", "Territory", and "Arise" are featured here, given a slightly new flavor due to Green's alternate vocal style which leans more towards the hardcore/thrash end than Max Cavalera's death metal grunt. As always, the guitar mastery of Andreas Kisser is in fine form throughout this set, as he lays down plenty of speedy yet thick riffs, as well as the occasional nimble guitar solo.

There is also a companion DVD set that is available as well, and while it can be argued whether they should have put both in one set or not, depending on your preference for audio or video (or both!) you have 2 great choices for some prime Sepultura.

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Intro
2. Apes Of God
3. Slave New World
4. Propaganda
5. Attitude
6. Choke
7. Inner Self / Beneath The Remains
8. Escape To The Void
9. Mindwar
10. Troops Of Doom - (with Jairo Guedz)
11. Necromancer - (with Jairo Guedz/Alex Kolesne)
Disc: 2
1. Sepulnation
2. Refuse/Resist
3. Territory
4. Black Steel In the Hour Of Chaos - (with Ze Gonzales/B-Negao)
5. Bullet The Blue Sky
6. Reza - (with Joao Gordo)
7. Biotech Is Godzila - (with Joao Gordo)
8. Arise / Dead Embryonic Cells
9. Come Back Alive
10. Roots Bloody Roots

Added: March 12th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Sepultura Website
Hits: 2259
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Sepultura: Live in Sao Paulo
Posted by Ken Pierce, SoT Staff Writer on 2006-03-12 07:04:20
My Score:

Sepultura are considered one of the most powerful forces for Metal and when you speak their name in their native land of Brazil they are considered as Gods. Their appeal to legions of Metal fans has wavered a little since lead singer Max Cavalera had left to form Soulfly. In his place the American Derrick Green continues to lead the band in a full assault charge. His sound is different from Max's and leans to a more Hard Core style than the Thrashing that Max was bringing to the table. Musically Andreas Kisser, Igor Cavalera and Paulo Xisto sound pretty good on the album but clearly the drums and vocals seemed to be mixed a little louder on the piece. The group storms through 21 numbers and to make this a little more worth paying attention to bring out a former guitarist Jairo Guedz to jam on a few numbers. Alex from Krisiun also makes an appearance and there are some others as well. For a CD with most of its talking in Portuguese it gets a little confusing with what's going on, but that is where owning the DVD is a good idea. Yes you read this correctly for a DVD of this concert was also issued in tandem to the CD. The double CD contains the full concert from the DVD and it might have made a little more sense to package this together but I guess that each item has its own preference level. The CD is a great display of Sepultura material and if you are a legacy or new fan there is something on this for you. It seems that every album has content performed from is with the larger amount of material coming off of "Chaos A.D." and "Roots". The only song I would have dropped is the dreadful version of U2's "Bullet The Blue Sky". It's not an easy song to do as a cover and this one seems very bland to me. Based on my knowledge of their music, I think Green does an ok job but similar to when Anthrax found John Bush; Sepultura has placed a different style of vocalist in the place of what was expected. Let's see what the next studio album holds to see if Seputura can once again claim the ground that was once securely theirs.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by