Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Langlois, Jerome : Molignak

" Very often, Jerome Langlois' inspirations come from nature, as if a melody ,a chord and the rhythm could actually appear from a wave on the shore ,a gust of wind, or even an animal's cry "

-excerpt from liner notes

"Molignak", meaning "Montreal" in the Abenakis Indian language, is former Maneige front man Jerome Langlois' first record for ProgQuebec and this label's first release ever of all new material. The disc is comprised of 18 exquisite little jewels hand-crafted by a master. Piano, violin and clarinet coalesce over bass and drums to create delicate gems which evoke images of nature and serenity. Langlois spent many years writing scores for nature documentaries and the fruits of that labor are amply demonstrated throughout this disc. One can almost see the courtship ritual of loons during numbers such as "Le Huard" or picture whales beckoning each other during the beautiful "Sound Castle". It's very easy to visualize butterflies skittering from flower to flower during the elegantly fragile "L'Envol Du Papillon". Langlois shows us he's fluent on many instruments, such as the electric guitar, on soulful numbers such as "Jac 23"; and a virtuoso on the piano ,while accompanying the violin on the disc's epic "Mars 97". Throughout the disc launching concert, Mr Langlois referred to the fictitious utopian world he'd like to create for himself and a few close friends. The listener is taken to this magical land through the number entitled "La Molinie".

Miles away from the usual fare served up on this site, "Molignak" will definitely appeal to those who enjoy the chamber side of symphonic music. One could easily classify the music on this disc as modern classical. Regardless of the label one chooses to attach to "Molignak", it's a very beautiful record which makes the perfect background to a romantic tete à tete with that special someone; or to enjoy by oneself in moments of quiet introspection.

Track Listing:

  1. Le Cri 1 (1:16)
  2. Huard 1 (5:00)
  3. Arrivée (5:06)
  4. La Rage (3:41)
  5. Souufle D'Ivoire et D'Ecrin (2:13)
  6. Je Suis Le Démon De Ta Vie (4:40)
  7. Jac 23 (3:06)
  8. Undertow (5:41)
  9. L'Envol Du Papillon (5:55)
  10. Mars 97 (9:33)
  11. Streams (4:48)
  12. Sound Castle (4:26)
  13. Laval (3:06)
  14. Tango 2000 (4:00)
  15. La Molinie (4:29)
  16. Intro:Huard 2 (1:07)
  17. Huard 2 (5:42)
  18. Le Cri 2 (4:42)

Added: November 19th 2005
Reviewer: Yves Dubé
Related Link:
Hits: 4837
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by