Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Trans-Siberian Orchestra: The Christmas Attic

The second release that Paul O'Neill has created with his Holiday Orchestra is entitled The Christmas Attic. The release follows the astounding Christmas Eve & Other Stories with a combination of holiday inspired instrumentals and often moving vocal pieces. As I listened I admit that I found this a little harder to enjoy as much as I did the first release. Perhaps it was because of the overall quality of that CD and the impact that it not only had on music but for its effect on the holiday season in general. Once again, O'Neill weaves a story that captures your interest and heart as he revisits the Angel from the last tale and sends him on his next mission. He is building a wonderful theme with these stories and they make for a good read even without the music to go along with it. The instrumental numbers like "Boughs Of Holly" and "Appalachian Snowfall" are clearly highlights right off the bat. As most know, O'Neill was also a core-writer on many Savatage classics with Jon Oliva. As a result of this partnership you will find a very Savatage like vibe to be very present in much of the meatier numbers that the Orchestra does. In the vocal based numbers there are some very good ones as well such as "Christmas In The Air" and "Music Box" (sung by Katrina Chester) as well as it's more soulful variation "Music Box Blues" (performed by Daryl Pediford). "Christmas Canon" is a soft piece that clearly belongs on a mass-released Holiday compilation of some sort to reach an even larger audience. Once again members of the band Savatage perform on this recording as well as a number of Broadway level talented singers. It is an interesting mix to say the least. For reference sake the key players on this CD are Robert Kinkel, Jon Oliva, Al Pitrelli, Chris Caffery, Jeff Plate, John Middleton, and Paul O'Neill.

Similar to the first CD, The Christmas Attic also comes with the booklet to let you follow along with not only the lyrics but the story that is lined out by O'Neill. However if this is your first reference to the group and you are finding it interesting you don't want to make this album your first choice. I recommend looking into Christmas Eve & Other Stories first because it is overall outstanding. The Christmas Attic does have moments but you will be better served by the premiere. Those that have been following already will pick it up based on the original interest yet the newbie should wait as I referenced above. When you have absorbed it all, then look into moving forward and purchasing the second part of their Christmas music. Trans-Siberian Orchestra is not only something you will enjoy on your own, but can definitely be shared with the family as well.

Track Listing

  1. The Ghosts Of Christmas Eve
  2. Boughs Of Holly
  3. The World That She Sees
  4. The World That He Sees
  5. Midnight Christmas Eve
  6. The March Of The Kings/Hark The Herald Angel
  7. The Three Kings And I ( what Really Happened)
  8. Christmas Canon
  9. Joy/Angels We Have Heard On High
  10. Find Our Way Home
  11. Appalachian Snowfall
  12. The Music Box
  13. The Snow Came Down
  14. Christmas In The Air
  15. Dream Child (A Christmas Dream)
  16. An Angel's Share
  17. Music Box Blues

Added: November 17th 2005
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: TSO Website
Hits: 3124
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by