Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Edguy: Hall Of Flames

If you are keeping yourself from following the major players in Heavy Metal these days you are probably still missing out on Edguy. However, if you have been smart and following the times you will already be well aware of this German Power Metal act led by Tobias Sammett. Since 1995 the band has been releasing well-crafted Metal to the listener and this 2 CD collection Hall Of Flames focuses on the music on the AFM Records label. My first exposure to Edguy was on the live release Burning Down The Opera and at the time their music was difficult to get in the USA. Now that the group is on Nuclear Blast Records we have seen their latest efforts a little easier. This partnership with Locomotive Music and AFM allows potential fans the chance to absorb some of their earlier material. In addition to some classic tracks the band also gives you rarities, unreleased gems, live tracks and two videos. 21 songs in all make this a worthy compilation even without the added video clips.

From the first CD songs like "Tears Of A Mandrake" and "Vain Glory Opera" capture the essence of what the band is about musically. Full of rich harmonies and very powerful musicianship, Edguy is a band that has a consistent style about them. The material is for the most part catchy as you will find in most of the tracks on this CD. These are among my favorite tracks from the AFM albums. CD2 was more of the treat for me as I liked getting the chance to hear some unreleased tracks and the bonuses. With the song "But Here I Am" you get a rocker with a big sing-along chorus of the type Edguy is often famous for. The song "La Marche De Gendarmes" is just a laugh riot from start to finish. The band also proves that they rock in the live sense by having three stellar performance tracks on this CD. I leaned towards "Avantasia" and "Wake Up The King" of the three included on this CD. The videos that are featured on CD2 need to be played on one's computer and not a conventional DVD player.

I can't recommend this band enough to the Metal fan and this is not only based on my enjoyment of their music. This is combined with the fact that I have seen them perform and can stress that they are wild, energetic and super talented. The sampling of their back catalog on this CD can attest to this stance. Don't miss out on the chance to enjoy something special from one of the greatest Heavy Metal bands to come around in a long time.

Track Listing

  1. Tears Of A Mandrake
  2. Jerusalem
  3. Out Of Control
  4. The Headless Game
  5. Scarlet Rose
  6. Nailed To The Wheel
  7. Vain Glory Opera
  8. Theater Of Salvation
  9. Key To My Fate
  10. Deadmaker
  11. Land Of The Miracle
  12. Until We Rise Again
  13. The Unbeliever
  14. The Devil And The Savant
  15. Wings Of A Dream
  16. For A Trace Of Life
  17. But Here I Am
  18. La Marche De Gendarmes
  19. Avantasia (live)
  20. Walk On Fighting (live)
  21. Wake Up The King (live)
  22. All The Clowns - video
  23. The Headless Game video

Added: October 12th 2005
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Edguy Website
Hits: 2816
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by