Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lost World: Trajectories

Several interesting CDs have found their way west from Russia lately, and so far this one takes the prize for being the most musically complete and melodically appealing of them all. Trajectories is 14 songs of classically inspired art rock which can be appreciated equally by progressive rock fans with simpler tastes and by jaded prog-snobs.

One of the interesting sounds is a breathless violin that drives a complex high-paced high-pitched melody. Listen to "Trajectory 1", "Trajectory 2" and "Trajectory 3". Play them back to back and you're treated to a three-part violin and flute concerto with a high-energy pace and moody tones. Look for the recurring themes on this record - for example "Trajectory Z" quotes parts of "Hills Are Breaking Into the Ground", "The Curtain" has elements of "There's Day, Here's Night", and of course themes are liberally traded among the 4 "Trajectory" pieces.

"Birds" has an avant garde, minimalist feel to it, with a flute mimicking the sounds of birds cries over a dark, doom-laden repeated bass piano note and deep, dissonant chords. "Splinters" is a short flute piece with Vassily Soloviev layering several pieces resulting in a rapid staccato sequence that would leave Ian Anderson reaching for his inhaler.

Another common sound is a flute and guitar playing uncommonly-styled duets. The vocals are in a soft, mid- to higher-register delivery which is fairly pleasing and never dominates - and most songs are mostly instrumental. Listen to the emotional ballad "There's Day, Here's Night" and Alexei Rybakov's wonderfully melodic singing will force you to agree that the days of weak vocals on Russian prog are thankfully behind us.

So-so production mars an otherwise excellent listen but it is a well composed, interesting piece with excellent musicianship. Each song is very different from the next, yielding an all round demanding put very pleasant listening experience.

Well recommended.

Track Listing:
1. Trajectory 1
2. Trajectory 2
3. Trajectory 3
4. My Heart Was Crushed
5. Splinters
6. Birds
7. There's Day, Here's Night
8. The Two
9. The Yesterday Night
11.Hills Are Breaking Into the Ground
12.Trajectory Z
13.The Day Has Come
14.The Curtain

Added: September 29th 2005
Reviewer: Duncan Glenday
Related Link: Lost World's Web Site
Hits: 5097
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by