Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Deadly Sin: Sunborn

Sunborn's opening one-two punch with the atmospheric instrumental "Sunrise" and the sci-fi keyboard/guitar riffs on "The Awakening" might convince some listeners that they've stumbled across a lost mid-Eighties Rush album. But then grit-throated vocalist Ross Thompson opens his mouth and the Rush comparison pretty much disappears. After three demos/EPs, Deadly Sin have nevertheless finally recorded a promising full-length debut. With an impressive and aggressive hybrid of thrash, power and prog metal, these four Germans engage in a type of organized chaos that in the hands of a lesser band would devolve into ugliness. But with savvy melodies that never betray Deadly Sin's thrashy roots, songs like "My Prison in Time," "The Raven and The Mirror" and "Slave" make this record worth more than just a few cursory spins. A couple clunkers (the by-the-numbers "Mistakes" and "Into Dementia") leave their blemishes, but they shouldn't be enough to discourage discerning metal fans.

Track Listing:
1) Sunrise
2) The Awakening
3) Mistakes
4) The Price I Pay
5) My Prison in Time
6) Sunborn
7) The Raven and The Mirror
8) Slave
9) Into Dementia
10) Starlight
11) To Fall Asleep

Added: September 6th 2005
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Deadly Sin Web Site
Hits: 2499
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by