Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Manowar: Hell On Earth- Volume IV

Manowar continue along with their collection of DVD's with the Hell On Earth series. This is the fourth volume in the series and comes to us courtesy of the people at SPV Records. This edition is probably the most comprehensive of the entire batch and it comes in perhaps the most well-designed package that I have ever seen. Loaded with photos and artwork on its numerous fold-out compartments this truly makes for an impressive addition to your DVD Collection. There is also a great little booklet in the box that features not only excellent band pictures but also has a discography and videography of the Magic Circle Music family products. MCM is a company run by bassist Joey DeMaio. One of the features on the first DVD which is the main part of the program, is the opportunity to decide how you will watch it. As there is live footage along with crowd interaction and band stuff I was glad to be able to simply watch all of the live clips in one sitting. It's great to include some of that stuff, but many viewers might want to get to the meat of the piece and that is very simply Manowar in concert. Too often bands release products like this and you have no choice on how to watch it. The lineup for the DVD stands at Eric Adams, Joey DeMaio, Scott Columbus and Karl Logan. The band is still amazing in performance and a legend in Heavy Metal music. The DVD does not feature too much of the bands classic material, but that makes sense since there are three other additions to enjoy.

On the second DVD you get a great amount of bonus features. There is everything from information on the band, and stuff for the fans such as a Heavy Metal Marriage. There is even additional live footage and material that was cut from the main program. The group also includes for you an audio CD that includes the unreleased "King Of Kings". This track is from the forthcoming Manowar CD and is a nice bonus to include. Certainly the fan of this band and the particular series collection will be getting their money's worth. I don't think we shall see the end of this line any time soon and since each one seems to capture a sense of time in the bands life, this is a good way to keep a video archive of them for posterity. Check it out and yell "DEATH TO FALSE METAL!!!!!!"

Track Listing DVD1

  1. Condom Head
  2. Kings Of Metal
  3. The Album
  4. Assaulting The Airwaves
  5. Brothers In Metal
  6. Crazy Fans
  7. Freedom Fighters
  8. In Store
  9. Assorted European Festivals
  10. Warriors Of The World United
  11. An American Trilogy
  12. Warriors Of The World Tour
  13. Tour Moments
  14. Call To Arms
  15. Female Fans
  16. I Believe
  17. The Pink One
  18. Spirit Horse Of The Cherokee
  19. Show Your Colors
  20. Swords In The Wind
  21. Master Of The Wind
  22. Courage
  23. Screams
  24. House Of Death
  25. Outlaw
  26. Party Until We Die
  27. Son Of Death guitar solo bonus
  28. Warriors Of The World United live - bonus
  29. The Demons Revenge bass solo bonus
  30. Army Of Immortals bonus
  31. Warriors Of The World United (alt music video) bonus
  32. I Believe (music video) - bonus

Behind the Scenes
TV Shows
Audio CD
King of Kings-taken from the forthcoming Manowar album

Added: August 29th 2005
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Manowar Website
Hits: 2112
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Manowar: Hell On Earth- Volume IV
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2005-09-04 08:04:24
My Score:

With perhaps the most eye-popping packaging I have ever seen on a music DVD and hours of metal entertainment, Manowar's 4th installment in their Hell on Earth DVD series has something for every Manowar fan. Luckily, with so much material, the band made it easy for you to navigate the menu and be able to play the various sections on their own, or just play the entire montage of live footage, videos, interviews, and backstage moments in running order. It's perhaps best to play which part you are most interested in at a time, as otherwise the order is literally all over the place, jumping from live clips, to backstage mania, to videos, and can be a little draining. The live footage, which will probably be of most interest to fans, is expertly shot, and sees the band covering many of their more recent metal anthems. What is very obvious is just how big Manowar is in Europe still, which doesn't say much for American audiences (come on folks, get with the program!), as Manowar regularly play for 3000+ seat venues overseas when they tour.

Of course, what Manowar DVD would be complete without plenty of naked female breasts and beer chugging? There's plenty of that here as well as TV show appearances (which are hilarious) and even a bonus CD that features an upcoming song "King of Kings" from Manowar's next album.

For the Manowar newbie, this might not be the best place to start if you want to take in some of their earlier material first, but die-hard fans will no doubt rejoice at this packed-to-the gills collection of recent Manowar happenings.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by