Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ozone Quartet: Cloud Nineology

Ozone Quartet was originally called Cloud Nine, and had to change their name due to trademark laws. So was born Ozone Quartet, and Cloud Nineology represents the period of 1992 to 1998 in the history of the band. If you are not familiar with the music of Ozone Quartet, these guys play a very majestic instrumental medley of progressive rock and jazz-fusion stylings, sort of like a marriage of Mahavishnu Orchestra, King Crimson, and the Dixie Dregs. The first four tunes on the CD were recorded in 1992, and see the early sound of the band as it was starting to take shape. As always, the band is led by the soaring violin work of Hollis Brown, and she is all over songs like "Fresh Blood" and "Flying in Circles" alongside the crunchy guitar work of Graham Fry, the nimble Chapman Stick grooves from Wayne Leechford, and the acrobatic drum work of Steve Smith. The guitar tone of Fry is thick and heavy on the songs from 1994 like "Surge" and "Stash", as he adds an almost metal edge to the decidely fusion feel that is given by Brown's violin flights. The band goes for a more rootsy jazz touch on "Lift", a real beautiful piece, and weave intricate guitar & violin lines on the slightly heavy and complex prog number "Freak of Nature". Cut to 1995 for the songs "Thief" , "Hypnosis", and "Grasshopper", three more songs later featured on the bands Fresh Blood album. Here, Ozone Quartet were really hitting their stride compositionally speaking as well as musically, as the songs are extremely melodic and full of many twists and turns. The addition of new drummer Fran Dyer also helped quite a bit, as his intricate style on "Thief" adds an almost ethnic feel to the music. "The Barbarian" of course is an ELP cover song that was to be featured on a tribute album that was never released. Here is where we see the appearance of new guitarist Kenny Thompson, who joined for the Nocturne album in 1999, and was later replaced by Jeremy Shaw. "The Barbarian" is an interesting tune for Ozone Quartet to record, as since they do not have a keyboard player, Brown, Leechford, and Thompson fill in the gaps where Keith Emerson added his arsenal.

Cloud Nineology is a nice retrospective of the early years of Ozone Quartet, and would be a great place for those new to the band to start. Fans of the group will of couse need to add this to their collection while they wait patiently for a new recording from the band.

Track listing
1. Cottonhead (2:45)
2. Flying in Circles (2:43)
3. Room #7 (3:33)
4. Fresh Blood (3:53)
5. Surge (2:59)
6. Stash (4:12)
7. Lift (4:27)
8. Freak Of Nature (3:49)
9. Thief (6:15)
10. Grasshopper (4:50)
11. Hypnosis (5:14)
12. The Barbarian (4:48)
Total Time: 49:28

Added: August 28th 2005
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Ozone Quartet Website
Hits: 3937
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by