Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Beautiful Creatures: Deuce

The five glammy boys in Beautiful Creatures may look like rejects from Nikki Sixx's Brides of Destruction project, but they sound like an aspiring Velvet Revolver. Deuce took four years to arrive after the band's 2001 much-hyped self-titled debut. Credit some of the delay to personnel changes. Ex-Bang Tango vocalist Joe LeSte is still the lead Creature, but he's now joined by former Flotsam & Jetsam guitarist Mark Simpson and drummer Timmy Russell, who inject the band with an even stronger sneer. The four-year gap doesn't seem to have impacted the music. This is a proud, honest, raw and in-your-face rock album, rife with punk-anthem riffs bolstered by arena-rock melodies and heavy-metal 'tude. Want examples? Just listen to lead-off single "Anyone," "Empty," "Save Me" and the Soundgarden soundalike "Ton of Lead." LeSte's voice lacks finesse, but this music doesn't demand anything fancy. In fact, despite a few modern-metal miscues (the embarrassingly grating "Superfly" and "Never"), this Deuce is a winner.

Track Listing:
1) Anyone
2) Freedom
3) Unforgiven
4) Save Me
5) Superfly
6) Empty
7) Never
8) Straight to Hell
9) The Unknown
10) Ton of Lead
11) Brand New Day
12) Thanks
13) I Won't Be the One

Added: September 22nd 2005
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Beautiful Creatures Web Site
Hits: 2631
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Beautiful Creatures: Deuce
Posted by Ken Pierce, SoT Staff Writer on 2007-01-26 14:00:55
My Score:

The Beautiful Creatures know the successful formula for kick ass Rock & Roll primarily because lead singer Joe LeSte originally hails from Bang Tango; a band that was rocking heavy in the years before the Seattle Sound spun things around and Metal still was everyone's mind. Deuce is their second album and the first for Spitfire Records and while it comes four years after the bands debut it is loaded with solid Rock and Roll hooks that make it something that was worth waiting for. There is a lot of killer music on the release and one thing that struck me very quickly when I listened to this CD was some of the similarities that it brought to mind. With "Freedom" they reminded me of Ian Astbury & The Cult, and since Sonic Temple was a favorite CD of mine, I truly enjoyed the song that much more. There are flavors that you would remember from bands such as Guns 'N Roses and LA Guns and pretty much any band that was dead on serious about the Rock they hit you with. That does not mean that BC is some clone band of these references but just something that if that was what appealed to you then this is something you should also be looking for right away. This is gritty Hard Rock that gets you dirty on more than one occasion and it's surely not the Pop Rock that we face from a number of the "fashionable" bands of today's scene. Those acts are lame and that's being generous and The Creatures are anything but boring. These are strong tunes and BC shows proud defiance with the opening track "Anyone" where we find LeSte screaming for individuality and demands that you listen to what he is saying. Among the rockers is the ever-present ballad in "Brand New Day" which works with the raspy singing very well. Bands like this always seemed to be able to deliver a quality slow track and this is a particularly good one. The members of the group alongside LeSte are Anthony Focx (rhythm guitar), Mark Simpson (lead guitar), Kenny Kweens (bass) and Timmy Russell (drums).

This is a great listen and if bands like Velvet Revolver appeal to you then check these guys out as well for pure bare bones Rock has made a long overdue comeback. Get some beers out of the fridge.

Beautiful Creatures: Deuce
Posted by Mike Blackburn, SoT Staff Writer on 2005-09-22 10:35:57
My Score:

These dudes made a name for themselves touring with Kiss and then on the Ozzfest tour. The band is Joe LeSte vocals, x-Bang Tango, Mark Simpson lead guitar, x-Flotsam & Jetsom, Anthony Focx guitars, Kenny Kweens bass and Timmy Russell drums. The band took a long time on this particular project as they "didn't want to have any throwaway songs".

The general vibe here is straight ahead guitar oriented rock with gutsy raspy vocals reminiscent at times of The Cult, Quireboys and ACDC but with a much harder in your face and attitude and edge. This is the second album by the band, produced by Focx, a full four years after the appearance of their self titled debut. There is very little evident in this music to tie LeSte and Simpson back to their original musical identities in Bang Tango and Flotsam & Jetsom respectively. With several band member changes over the past four years the band is considering this release a rebirth of the band in many ways. I look forward to future quality material from this outfit.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by