Sea Of Tranquility



The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu




Various Artists: The Strat Pack-Live in Concert: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Stratocaster (DVD)

It's too bad Eric Clapton couldn't have made an appearance at the 50th anniversary celebration of the Fender Stratocaster. Held in fall 2004 at London's Wembley Arena, The Strat Pack Concert captured on this 155-minute DVD (with Stereo, 5.1 Surround and DTS audio options) not only paid homage to Leo Fender's famous invention that literally changed the face of music with its wide array of tonal possibilities, but it also served as a benefit for the Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Center a powerful facility developed under the belief that everyone can respond to music, regardless of how ill or disabled they may be.

Despite Clapton's absence, the bigger names at this gig still put on the most enjoyable performances: Joe Walsh, playing with an edge you don't see or hear too often when he's with the Eagles; David Gilmour, mesmerizing listeners while standing completely still; and Paul Rodgers, strutting through "Alright Now" as if he were still a young man and inviting his son and daughter (Steve and Jasmine) onstage to sing a beautiful ballad they wrote called "Drinking." A deep bow, however, also goes to alt.country rhythm guitarist Theresa Andersson, who electrified the crowd early on with a song called "I'm On My Way."

I understand that the point of this party was to celebrate and explore the breadth of the Strat's cumulative effect on music. That explains why rockabilly, jazz, blues, pop and rock was on display. But young jazz-pop pianist Jamie Cullum? The dude plays piano! Why stick him and another unknown like Amy Winehouse in between Gary Moore (who stuns with his rendition of Jimi Hendrix's "Red House") and Rodgers (who in a portentous display, invites Queen's Brian May to join him on "Alright Now")?

Approximately 30 minutes of interviews with everyone from The Crickets (reportedly the first band to use a Fender Stratocaster on record, for a song called "Blue Days, Black Nights") to Genesis' Mike Rutherford (who calls the Strat "the only guitar that can be a bit of everything." That statement was certainly true this night.


Track Listing:
* The Crickets, Albert Lee & Brian May: Peggy Sue, Maybe Baby, I Fought the Law, Oh Boy, That'll Be the Day
* Hank Marvin & Ben Marvin: The Rise and Fall of Flingel Blunt, Sleepwalk, Apache
* Theresa Andersson: I'm On My Way
* Albert Lee & Theresa Andersson: Country Boy
* Mike Rutherford & Paul Carrack: How Long, All Along the Watchtower, While My Guitar Gently Weeps, I Can't Dance
* Gary Moore: Red House
* Jamie Cullum: Angel
* Amy Winehouse: Stronger Than Me
* Paul Rodgers: Muddy Water Blues
* Paul Rodgers featuring Jasmine & Steve Rodgers: Drinking
* Paul Rodgers & Brian May: Alright Now
* Paul Rodgers & Joe Walsh: Can't Get Enough
* Joe Walsh: Funk 49, Life's Been Good, Life in the Fast Lane, Rocky Mountain Way
* Phil Manzanera: 6PM
* David Gilmour: Marooned, Coming Back to Life, Sorrow
* Ronnie Wood: Ooh La La
* All-Star Lineup: Stay With Me

Added: August 2nd 2005
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Score:
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 37761
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]

  

[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Various Artists: The Strat Pack-Live in Concert: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Stratocaster (DVD)
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2005-08-01 06:59:22
My Score:

Long with the Gibson Les Paul, the Fender Stratocaster literally changed the face of modern music when it was introduced 50 years ago. This concert DVD recorded at London's Wembley Arena celebrates the greatness of the Fender Stratocaster electric guitar with some strong performances from legendary musicians. Gary Moore absolutely slays the audience with a powerful rendition of "Red House" in perfect Hendrix style, seemingly stepping into Hendrix' or Stevie Ray Vaughn's shoes for this gig. Joe Walsh pulls out a few of his better known hits, like "Funk 49", "Life's Been Good", "Life in the Fast Lane", and "Rocky Mountain Way", proving he still has some "life" left in him other than the endless Eagles reunion tours. Pink Floyd fans will cherish the appearance of David Gilmour, whose trademark soaring lead lines are all over "Marooned", "Coming Back to Life" and "Sorrow". But, other than Ronnie Wood, Phil Manzanera, The Crickets, Paul Carrack & Mike Rutherford, Hank Marvin, and Albert Lee, the real highlight here is seeing Paul Rodgers singing in great form, especially with Queen's Brian May on the Free classic "Alright Now". It's been said that the two formed a bond at this show that propelled them to do the "Queen and Paul Rodgers" tour, and you can see the two players really enjoying sharing the stage together, and May's note for note rendition of Paul Kossoff's guitar solo on this Free song is very exciting to see.

My one question though-what the hell is pianist Jamie Cullum doing here with a solo spot? I thought this was a tribute to the Fender guitar? You mean to tell me they couldn't get Robin Trower, Buddy Guy, or Mark Knopfler to play this gig? And where was Eric Clapton? Other than those quibbles, this is a fun DVD for guitar fans of all ages.


» Reader Comments:

Various Artists: The Strat Pack-Live in Concert: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Stratocaster (DVD)
Posted by Michael Kelly on 2012-04-09 19:03:35
My Score:

Reading the commente of others as regarde who could and maybe should have been included I would have to agree that people like Mark Knophler who are truly great guitarists should have been there. I must ask why include a a very good but not great guitarist like Eric Clapton in this company, he was fortunate to be a white briton playing the blues when there were none and I dont believe he ever came close to reaching the heights of a Knophler, Rory Gallager etc truly great exponents of the guitar. Gary Moore ae he always has blew me away may his soul rest in peace. I really enjoyed this concert as I just love music I do not care about genre if it is good I will listen to it.

Various Artists: The Strat Pack-Live in Concert: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Stratocaster (DVD)
Posted by dr. william w. lockwood on 2010-04-26 09:52:46
My Score:

Amy Winterbourne at age 21. What a magnificent talent. I pray that someone essential gets to her and is able to show her the way to regain her health. At present, age 30 seems like a long way for her. Certainly she must respect the likes of Paul Rodgers, Brian May, Joe walsh, Dave Gilmour, the immensely talented Theressa Anderson, Jasmine Rodgers, and others who played at this concert. Can someone from this set reach out before we read of her death?

Various Artists: The Strat Pack-Live in Concert: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Stratocaster (DVD)
Posted by Billy Hooper on 2010-01-29 09:12:11
My Score:

Who was playing the red Strat behind Mike Rutherford and Paul Carrack? Didn't he play with Clapton on a few cuts?

Various Artists: The Strat Pack-Live in Concert: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Stratocaster (DVD)
Posted by Dave Teachout on 2008-09-02 14:35:48
My Score:

They should have included at least something in the way of a video tribute to Hendrix for god's sake!!

Various Artists: The Strat Pack-Live in Concert: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Stratocaster (DVD)
Posted by Vlad on 2008-08-31 23:38:56
My Score:

I saw it on HDNet (Atlanta) last night. Moore was great. Really great. But David Gilmour absolutely blew me away. Gosh, I loved Floyd since I was 13 or so but I could never imagine that David can play SO good. Wow. One thing about this concert pissed me off, though. No Ritchie Blackmore on Stratocaster event? This is wrong. Ritchie is The God. He pretty much made Stratocaster famous among non-musician hard rock fans.

Various Artists: The Strat Pack-Live in Concert: Celebrating 50 Years of the Fender Stratocaster (DVD)
Posted by Rich Craye on 2008-05-08 03:10:37
My Score:

I saw this concert on HDNet last week, and it blew me away. The biggest standout for me was the set that David Gilmour played....brought the hair up in the back of the neck of this old "Floydd" fan. I have to get this DVD for my collection




2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by SpeedSoft.com