Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Seether: Disclaimer II

Originally released in 2002, Wind-Up Records has re-issued the debut CD from Seether but with a whole lot of added songs and videos. The first 12 tracks are the original release and with this edition you will find 20 tracks now. On first listen you will find that Seether shows themselves to be a band who had a lot of different influences to their sound. As I listened to Disclaimer II, I detected traces of Nirvana, Stone Temple Pilots, Alice In Chains and even a few others. Singer Shaun Morgan certainly leans towards a Kurt Cobain style with his singing and this is not a bad thing for a couple of reasons. These bands no longer perform and it's great to have a group come in and deliver the music with similar style and feel. There is a chance that some listeners will simply pass over this CD as it has so many of these varied sounds in it and fear that perhaps it is a mere cloning of styles . I say to those people that they are doing themselves a tremendous disservice and this should be looked into.

Standout tracks from the album are "Gasoline", "Fine Again", "Driven Under", "Needles" and "Broken". This last track is delivered in two ways for maximum enjoyment. The first is an acoustic version which while very nice is surpassed by the version done with Amy Lee of Evanescence. Amy is the girlfriend of Seether's lead singer Shaun.. The band has also included a bonus DVD that contains performance and behind the scenes footage along with some videos. I think this is a great bonus because there are enough quality tracks on the CD to merit this purchase anyway.

So far the group has toured with Wind-Up Records label mates Evanescence and yet the overall strength of the band material truly dictates their success as a group in their own right. Check it out.

Track List
1. Gasoline
2. 69 Tea
3. Fine Again
4. Needles
5. Driven Under
6. Pride
7. Sympathetic
8. Your Bore
9. Fade Away
10. Pig
11. Fxxx It
12. Broken
13. Sold Me
14. Cigarettes
15. Love Her
16. Take Me Away
17. Got It Made
18. Out Of My Way
19. Hang On
20. Broken (w/ Amy Lee of Evanescence)

Added: July 27th 2005
Reviewer: Ken Pierce
Related Link: Seether Website
Hits: 3004
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by