Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ektomorf: Instinct

On their sixth album, Hungarian thrashers Ektomorpf pound out 12 relentless metal tracks littered with rough vocals, pummeling guitar riffs, and lots of rhythmic groove. Sounding a lot like early period Sepultura, this four-piece strike with relentless energy on tunes like "Show Your Fist", "Land of Pain", and the unbridled speedy thrash of the raging title track. In some ways though, that is a bit of their downfall as well, as many of the songs fall into the same tempo and sound too much alike. There's also nothing overly complex here either, just lots of crunchy riffage with no intricate layers or flashy solos. It's not until you hear some sitar on the solid tune "Burn" that any kind of variety pops up. This is good modern thrash/nu-metal, but not something that's going to set the world on fire.

Track Listing
01. Set Me Free
02. Show Your Fist
03. Instinct
04. Burn
05. The Holy Noise
06. Fuck You All
07. United Nations
08. Land Of Pain
09. Break You
10. You Get What You Give
11. Until The End
12. I Will

Added: July 20th 2005
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Ektomorf Website
Hits: 3192
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by