Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Piledriver: Live in Europe -- The ROCKWALL Tour

Known for “ass-kicking blues and boogie rock at maximum volume,” Germany’s Piledriver takes extreme pleasure in emulating Status Quo. In fact, Piledriver began life as a Quo tribute band and then went on to release series of studio and live albums of both original material and covers.

This elaborate five-disc box set presents three live shows Piledriver played on its ROCKWELL European Tour in the months preceding the COVID-19 pandemic in support of the band’s fourth album. Those shows -- one in Germany, one in the United Kingdom and one in the Netherlands -- also were filmed. And they turned out to be the final Piledriver concerts to feature keyboard player Rudi Peeters, who died in August 2020 at age 42 after 16 years in the band.

The whole package is dedicated to Peeters and includes three CDs -- each featuring one of the three gigs -- plus all three shows and bonus material like video clips and a photo gallery on both DVD and Blu-Ray. There’s also a full-color 24-page booklet and a poster. The concert footage reveals the band having the time of their lives, fully embracing the role of rock stars. To be honest, watching Piledriver is a lot more fun than just listening to to them.

Given the nature of this release, there is some repetition with songs (including three versions each of “Caroline” and “Whatever You Want”), and the 33 songs taken collectively do tend to blur together. That said, it’s an impressive package that should please fans.

It’s also probably all the Piledriver you’ll ever need.

Track Listing:
Live in Herne, Germany
1. Top Of The Bill
2. Draw The Line
3. Good Times
4. Rockwall
5. Stomp!
6. Agitators
7. One For The Rock
8. Rock In A Crossfire Hurricane
9. Fat Rat Boogie
10. Down Down
11. Whatever You Want
12. Caroline

Live in Minehead, UK
1. Whatever You Want
2. Rockin’ All Over The World
3. Hold You Back
4. Hi
5. Joint Forces
6. Blue Eyed Lady
7. Roll Over Lay Down
8. What You’re Proposing
9. Mystery Medley
10. Caroline

Live in Zwolle, Netherlands
1. Caroline
2. Roll Over Lay Down
3. Hold You Back
4. Backwater
5. Hold You Back
6. Rain
7. Don’t Waste My Time
8. Whatever You Want
9. Rockin’ All Over The World
10. Down Down
11. Bye-Bye, Johnny

Added: November 21st 2023
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Piledriver Website
Hits: 309
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by